Rafa – Notes 29/05/2024

29 May

“If he hadn’t made me play without water that day, if he hadn’t singled me out for especially harsh treatment when I was in that group of little kids learning the game, if I hadn’t cried as I did at the injustice and abuse he heaped on me, maybe I would not be the player I am today. He always stressed the importance of endurance. “Endure, put up with whatever comes your way, learn to overcome weakness and pain, push yourself to breaking point but never cave in. If you don’t learn that lesson, you’ll never succeed as an elite athlete”: that was what he taught me.”
― Rafael Nadal, Rafa

In my life time, the best sports man of all time is Rafael Nadal. Imagine if he had not lost years and missed all those slams with injury, he would have achieved more and won more titles. I know Novak Djokovic will end up as best professional tennis player with maximum titles. He is a very great player. Roger Federer made tennis beautiful and is a legend. My favorite has always been Rafa. He is willing to die for every point and played with passion and spirit to match. He just made life meaningful for millions who watched tennis. Incredible once in a generation player. I also liked his courage and humility to face defeat and come back again and again after injuries. I once fell down from stairs, it took me two months to walk properly. You can twist an ankle on court, it will take a month or two to be normal again. It’s hard.

I have done many posts on Rafa over the years and do not like adjectives per se. I think Rafa is the best and will miss those matches when he gave it his all win or lose. He ended up winning more by enduring pain and enjoying suffering.The ultimate warrior.

The best tribute was by peers when Iga Świątek,Novak Djokovic and Carlos Alcaraz ( all great champions) turned up in stands to watch Rafael Nadal vs Alexander Zverev match at Roland Garros 2024. 

Rafa made sport much more meaningful. Life much more meaningful. That effort is everything!

Vamos Rafa and see you at Olympics.

Sincerely, Suresh

Leave a comment