Wayde Van Niekerk : Men’s 400m Sprint Final ( Rio 2016)

18 Sep

” Van Niekerk found his fortune in the 400m, but the irony is that he hates the event.

“Once you’ve been blessed with something you need to use it as best as possible. I’m not going to waste it. I hate the 400m but look how far it’s brought me. It does put me on the floor afterwards,” said Van Niekerk, who collapsed on the track after winning the 2015 World Championships in Beijing. There’s obviously still the Olympics. That’s definitely a must that I need to turn up for … I would love to double up on the gold again.”

” Van Niekerk started the 2016 with a bang, breaking 10 seconds in the 100m as he went 9.98sec in Bloemfontein in March to become the first man in the world to break the three sprint barriers — 10 seconds in the 100m, 20 in the 200m and 44 in the 400m.”

” Van Niekerk is unbeaten heading into Rio, as he was going into Beijing.His dream of a golden double is alive and well.”

Source : https://www.iaaf.org/athletes/south-africa/wayde-van-niekerk-255162

And what a race !!

Men’s 400m sprint  final was one of the best races that saw on television. It turned out to be of the greatest races. I watched the video many times. It excites me every time.  Wayde Van Niekerk ran an outstanding race in the outside lane ” He ran blind and obliterated  Michael Johnson’s 43: 18  world record” to quote from the delightful commentary.  It was an inspiring and most brilliant run by the young South African. The field was extremely competitive with two past Olympic and World champions – Kirani James and LaShawn Merritt and other impressive runners.

They had this to say about the race:

“I thought he was going to fade a bit, I honestly did.” ( LaShawn Merritt)

” He just kept going and going and he never slowed down ( Kirani James)

Wayde Van Niekerk is now both the World ( Beijing 2015) and Olympic Champion.( Rio 2016).

Usain Bolt had this to say..

“When he came to Jamaica, I said to him, ‘You’re the only person who can break the 400-meter record. He’s very fast and keeps on going. To me, I wasn’t really surprised he got it.”

For more:www.iaaf.org/athletes/south-africa/wayde-van-niekerk-255162

http://edition.cnn.com/2016/08/15/sport/news-rio-olympics-van-niekerk-grandma-coach/

http://sports.yahoo.com/news/how-usain-bolt-predicted-wayde-van-niekerk-would-break-michael-johnsons-400-record-055818860.html

The young athlete is on to  something very special..

” I believe in myself as an athlete and I believe in my abilities. God just showed how faithful he’s been in my life and I’m very grateful for the continuous blessing.”(Wayde Van Niekerk)

This young athlete will be a legend. A humble one..

Personal Bests

100m: 9.98A (2016)

200m: 19.94 (2015)

300m: 31.03  (2016)

400m: 43.03 WR (2016 )

I am humbled and inspired by Wayde Van Niekerk.

Hope you like re run of a most brilliant race. Next post on an equally special Rio2016 women’s 400m sprint final …

Have a good day dear friends and stay inspired.

Love, Suresh

Leave a Reply

