Michael Phelps

14 Aug

” ” Michael leaned forward and his eyes narrowed. He looked at me and said, ” I’m thinking about coming back.” I stared at him. He smiled a bit. ” Yep.” he went on, ” I’m thinking about the Olympics one more time.”

” Do you remember those last four years? ” I finally asked him.

” It won’t be like that” he said.

” Yeah, sure,” I said. ” I’ve heard that before.” Then I shook my head.

There was silence for a minute or so. I thought about what his decision would mean, for him and me. Then I said, ” If you’re making a comeback for your sponsors, or if you’re doing it because you don’t have anything better to do with your life, or if you can’t figure your life out, then you should not do it. Michael, I mean it: You should not do it.”

He nodded. And waited. Then he said, ” Bob I can tell you, those aren’t the reasons.”

I came at him again ” Let me be clear, Michael. Unless you’re doing it for the right reasons, and those reasons have to be that you’re doing it only for yourself, then you should not do this.”

Now, for the first time all night – in fact, for the first time that I could remember – Michael looked at me with the face of a wizened young man. And he said. ” That’s the only reason I want to do it. For me. I love to swim. I want to swim.”

He paused for a second. ” And I have more things I want to accomplish.”

That’s when I knew for certain that he meant what he was saying…”

― Bob Bowman, USA Head Swim coach with Charles Butler, The Golden rules : 10 steps to world – class excellence in your life and work.

And what a comeback .. Michael Phelps has now 23 golds in a tally of 28 Olympic medals. He has added 5 more  gold medals in Rio 2016!

Michael Phelps  writes in a glowing foreword for  coach Bob Bowman’s book – ” When I came out of retirement to train for the 2016 Olympics, it was because I still wanted to achieve things in the pool. But to do that. I needed to get back to training in the best way possible. That way is Bob’s way. ”

I had decided to read Bob Bowman’s book some time back. I am doing it now.

002

The book and those coffee chocolates have been eating since childhood..

 

” You can’t put a limit on anything. The more you dream, the farther you get.”

― Michael Phelps ( https://www.facebook.com/michaelphelps)

The learning is instructive ” We must do things for right reasons. We must do it only for ourselves. ”

Everything follows a decision.

Once finish the book will write a review.  Please don’t say am not educated ” I did it only for myself.” I may have done more..

I am no swimmer and hope Michael Phelps inspires you as inspires me…

Have a good day dear friends!

Love, Suresh

 

Leave a Reply

