Imperfect and inspired

9 Aug

“To think is easy. To act is hard. But the hardest thing in the world is to act in accordance with your thinking.”

― Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

I was telling my   young colleague” You should ensure – you get what you want….. otherwise life is a compromise ( he chipped in as he read my mind..)”   I really feel so. Sometimes think my temperament borders a excessive self esteem of a Zlatan Ibrahimović and a selfless loving  self of a Dalai lama..” Am not comparing. That’s why feel  both a great sense of indignation and a great love and desire to help people. I am at cross roads.

I had a horrible commute to work today. My vehicle got hit by a bigger car …Audi. The nearby guy shouted ” Don’t leave that Bastard, he hit you hard..” . I was stunned. Am somewhere a cross of vulnerability and grit. I did not say anything to him. My spiritual growth perhaps. I resolved must buy a bigger car than the … a Porsche. I am not materialistic at all, am just angry  and sad at once like a child. ( I generally go by my sister’s recommendation. She has recommended me a new six seater just in case..) I go little ahead and get fined for a traffic violation by a police man.  I pay him hundred bucks and he accepts it with dignity like a temple offering. He knows its not my fault so creates no ruckus.  I want to reach office early. My imperfect life continues..

The desire to reach office is a struggle. While coming back from work. The Bus driver shouts at me in a local language ” You don’t have eyes..” I react in horror as turn my vehicle so he could pass by and  some people from the bus look at me. They think they have seen something on my forehead. I say a silent prayer and continue my commute back home. May be it’s my mother’s health that worries me so much. May be it’s a past experience which keeps coming back to me. Either way am not in grace. What do I do?

I practice mindful breathing and read these articles for motivation. I may have a screwed up day but never short  of effort or inspiration. That encourages me..

” Spend some time with U.S. Olympic men’s swimming coach Bob Bowman, as I recently did, and you’ll understand why some people go from good to great in a chosen field, while others, like Bowman’s longtime student Michael Phelps, go from good to record-shattering.

Phelps’ record is extraordinary. His 22 total medals and 18 gold medals is the greatest medal performance in all of Olympic history. I caught up with Bowman to speak about his new book, The Golden Rules, and to learn how his years of coaching superstar Michael Phelps can help everyone—especially business leaders—reach peak performance in their chosen fields.”

― Carmine Gallo, “3 Habits of Peak Performers, According to Michael Phelps Coach” Forbes, May 24, 2016

Miachael Phelps has just won his 19th gold medal at Rio 2016 and what is the secret according to coach Bowman?   Vision, Mental Rehearsal and Practice.

Do check : http://www.forbes.com/sites/carminegallo/2016/05/24/3-daily-habits-of-peak-performers-according-to-michael-phelps-coach/#41ca1f05194a

” If you want to see the tangible results of hard work and determination, tune into the 2016 Olympics. There you’ll find more than a few great examples of people at the top of their game.

For most elite competitions like the Olympics and Athletics World Championships, the world governing body publishes standards in advance of the competitions,” says motivational speaker Mike Lipkin, author of Star Power: How to Be Unstoppable Through the Nine Star Social Values. “If you’re selected to compete at the event, you know you’re literally among the best in the world,” Lipkin explains, “You’ve qualified to perform at the highest level against the best of the best.”

Yet, Lipkin notes, “Life is like an elite competition. Before you can compete, you have to qualify for it. Only then can you actually win.”

― Stephanie Vozza, “Six habit of champions” Fast company, August 8, 2016

So what is the mindset of a champion ? Picture yourself winning, strive for improvement, stay focused and positive, do what you love, learn from setbacks, push through rough patches..

Do check: http://www.fastcompany.com/3062601/six-habits-of-champions

” You will never get any more out of life than you expect

Keep your mind on the things you want and off those you don’t

Things live by moving and gain strength as they go

Be a calm beholder of what is happening around you

There is a difference a) the world b) our reaction to it

Be aware of our conditioning! Drop and dissolve inner blockage

Inner to outer ~~~ we start by dissolving our attitude not by altering outer condition

See that there is no one to fight, only an illusion to see through

No one can hurt you unless you allow him to

Inwardly, psychologically, be a nobody ”

“I know that I have the ability to ACHIEVE the object of my DEFINITE PURPOSE in life; therefore I DEMAND of myself persistent, continuous action toward its attainment, and I here and now promise to render such action.

I realize the DOMINATING THOUGHTS of my mind will eventually reproduce themselves in outward, physical action, and gradually transform themselves into physical reality; therefore I will CONCENTRATE my thoughts for 30 min. daily upon the task of thinking of the person I intend to become, thereby creating in my mind a clear MENTAL PICTURE.

I know through the principle of autosuggestion, any desire that I PERSISTENTLY hold will eventually seek expression through some practical means of attaining the object back of it; therefore, I will devote 10 min. daily to DEMANDING of myself the development of SELF-CONFIDENCE.

I have clearly written down a description of my DEFINITE CHIEF AIM in life, and I will never stop trying until I shall have developed sufficient self-confidence for its attainment.”

― Maria Popova, Bruce Lee’s Never – before – seen writings on Willpower, Emotion, Reason, Memory, Imagination and Confidence.

I am a Bruce lee fan of both martial arts and philosophy. My friend kindly shared this article yesterday.

Do check: https://www.brainpickings.org/2016/08/01/bruce-lee-notebook/

My only wish is must meet people whom love and that’s another post perhaps..

So in the most imperfect moments, we stay inspired, loving and determined…

Good night dear friends!  Hope you have a good day!

Love, Suresh

 

Leave a Reply

