Biryani

15 Jan

Ndtv biryani

” “If there is such a thing as foods of the God, it is undoubtedly the biryani. The magic of biryani lies in the way rice is transformed into something ambrosial.” – Pratibha Karan

Biryani, an evergreen classic, really needs no introduction. It’s aromatic, it’s heavenly and one of the most loved delicacies of the country. It is believed that Mughals were the first to introduce Biryani in North India whereas South India was exposed to its brilliance through the Arabs. Biryani flourished in some of the notable Muslim centres throughout the country – including Lucknow, old Delhi and Hyderabad, to name a few – after which it was gradually embraced by all.

The style of cooking Biryani in North India differed from the Southern states. Since a large part of North India was inhabited by vegetarian communities like Brahmins and Marwaris, North Indians successfully experimented with it to arrive at the vegetarian versions. Vegetable Biryani, colloquially calledTehri’ is a classic Sunday meal in most North Indian homes. ”

Source: 10 Best Biryani Recipes, Sparshita Saxena, NDTV

Please see for more: http://food.ndtv.com/lists/10-best-biryani-recipes-696324

Please do check : http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/4686/chicken-biryani

My friend graciously invited me for a sumptuous Biryani lunch. I listened with wondrous attention and amazement as my friend recounted tales of discovering little known places which offer great food in every city worked. I admired my friends passionate approach to life. This is what would refer as ” Full human experience.” I discovered this term in a ” Humans of New York” post. I found it a perfect reflector  for a truly living experience. We  went together to get the freshly cooked Biryani from a no frill place. I loved the experience of getting it and savoring it. The food was brilliant.

Now, am hardly a foodie. Infact my sister had scolded me when last went out with family that am not experimental enough and do not even try new food. It was sea food. I tried on her insistence. My mother to my surprise seemed to relish continental food. I do like Biryani. All types of Biryani. Biryani is like the spanish food ” paella “. I had seen the cooking of same in a travel show on television.  It’s cooked in bulk in a big container.

I think pleasures of life are simple, we must have a heart and a passion for living…

This is an SOS to all , please do follow above links for good recipes or discover new places in your city, not the five star ones where the general manager says ” Today is a bright day. Hope you enjoy the food.” or something  stupid like that…but the exciting no frill places..:)

This is perhaps my first ever post on food 🙂

Good night friends! Let me twist Omar Khayyam and say “Eat Biryani. This is life eternal. This is all that youth will give you. Be happy for this moment. This moment is your life.” 🙂

Love, Suresh

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

