Virender Sehwag

20 Oct

“Don’t you ever let a soul in the world tell you that you can’t be exactly who you are.”
― Lady Gaga

This is probably the only cricket post will do save  a human interest story or a Virender Sehwag. I must concede loved the game as much as every body in my country as a child. I played with my friends with lot of enjoyment. I like it less and less. I like other sports. It is cricket though which is religion in my country. The English have permanently left their bats, balls, stumps and all those guards and the subcontinent has embraced it with open hearts, legs and limbs. Chuck my rant. Let’s celebrate Virender Sehwag as a metaphor – Simple, uncluttered and genius.

The only parallel to Virender Sehwag that comes to my mind was the great Sir Vivian Richards. I had seen the great West Indian cricketer play on television as a child the same brand of nonchalant brilliant cricket. They both seem centered. The eye and decision making precise. The power and effortless grace of the great WestIndian and the audacity and magic of Sehwag is perhaps unmatched in cricketing history. There must be other parallels.Yes Adam Gilchrist.

I believe the sign of brilliance is simplicity. Like Steve Jobs once said ““Simple can be harder than complex: You have to work hard to get your thinking clean to make it simple. But it’s worth it in the end because once you get there, you can move mountains.”. The uncluttered mind makes the best decision. It’s worth preserving a empty mind. That’s what master’s teach : meditation and stillness. To relax in the moment.

Does that mean there is no plan? Of couse not, ” the plan is to catch the ball early and hit it as hard as possible.” I think it’s a great plan. Every start up or a challenger must embrace it to break the odds and press forward. It takes courage. It is risk. It can fail. It is also the best route to unexpected success. The intelligence is embedded in the decision.  It is also to live and play with enjoyment. Like a child. Without fears. Free.

Angikaar Choudhury in a fine tribute in Scroll.in writes ” In Bon Jovi’s smash hit It’s My Life, the rock band pays tribute to Frank Sinatra by crooning, “Like Frankie said, I did it my way.” The song become a cultural anthem – that line especially became a clarion call to thousands across the world to live life according to their own terms.

What Bon Jovi did for music, Virender Sehwag did the same for cricket. Perhaps, it is coincidental but the last line of Sehwag’s retirement statement  on Tuesday runs on similar lines. “I also want to thank everyone for all the cricketing advice given to me over the years and I apologise for not accepting most of it!” he wrote. “I had a reason for not following it; I did it my way!”

For more on Scroll article :http://scroll.in/article/763714/confident-audacious-cocksure-viru-did-it-his-own-way-and-spread-joy-in-the-process

Virender Sehwag is what Malcolm Galdwell calls a ” Outlier.” May be he is symptomatic of a change maker. Virender Sehwag has certainly changed the dynamics of the game of cricket. To play the ball and not the bowler. I also liked his simple smartness he once said after he was given a man of match award for his bowling ( Yes he could bowl) in a one day game ” Captain ( Ganguly) ne bola dot ball dalo, toh meine batsmen ke toe par ball kiya” ( The captain told me not to give away runs, so focussed on bowling on batsmen’s toes.”. I think Virender Sehwag was a breath of fresh air for cricket. Sourav Ganguly must be lauded for noticing and giving opportunity to that talent. Ganguly was a superlative skipper.

A metaphor for courage, audacity and joy. I also feel the same zen like approach can master any subject or situation. To focus on present with a empty mind. What follows would be right understanding. If we think we know everything, even if it’s true, may not lead to right understanding. That is why like Virender Sehwag.

If man is judged by impact or consequence, Virender Sehwag is in  my opinion is the greatest cricketer that has ever come from India.

I would like to reiterate from the talismanic cricketer’s retirement statement

” I also want to thank everyone for all the cricketing advice given to me over the years and I apologise for not accepting most of it! I had a reason for not following it; I did it my way!”

For more: http://www.bcci.tv/news/2015/news/11327/virender-sehwags-retirement-statement

Do what your heart says dear friends. I must sleep now.

Goodnight friends and hope you have a good day!

Love, Suresh

Leave a Reply

