The Greatest

2 Oct

Mahatma Gandhi is my hero. Today is a national holiday on the great man’s birth anniversary. I am not a historian or a scholar to add anything or any critque to great man’s work.  As everything else here mine is a individual journey and wish to share own little reminisces or thoughts. Mahatma Gandhi was my first hero and most important influence in formative years. I had a love for reading & knowledge and so had started visiting public libraries at ten or twelve years old. I lived in a government cantonment or estate. My father was a government servant. I studied in a government school. It’s almost strange work in private industry now. Never mind. You end up where you deserve to be.

My first school Kendriya Vidayalaya Ambernath had a period for library. This must be 1982 and my library teacher was a thin and very small man Mr. Kulkarni. He gave me a big volume on Mahatma Gandhi to read which read as if  in small bytes overtime in every library period which guess had once a week. I finished reading a volume on works of Mahatma Gandhi and as a child this was the best thing that did or happened to me. I forever remain grateful to my library teacher Mr. Kulkarni. I decided early on no matter what  consequences will always embrace the path of truth. My father was a truthful man. It’s only courageous people who speak truth. Gandhi gave me courage, honesty and resolve. Inspite of mistakes never lied. It’s not easy when everywhere people get away with being economical on truth and fib randomly. Gandhi never won a Nobel prize but is recognised as one of the greatest people who ever walked on this earth.

I also learnt from the great man ” It’s okay to have limitations or short comings. But they never come in your way if you have a indomitable will and good intent.”. I wish every one get’s inspired by Gandhi and the world will be a better place.

I remember long ago while playing a cricket match, my school friend Samir who is a publisher now standing the slips had dropped a catch and promptly said ” I refuse to take a catch” quoting Gandhi ” I refuse to pay 100 Rs as bail” 🙂

I think we should internalise Gandhi.

gandhi2

The Greatest..

So dear friends, remember and always remember this..

” Strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

Or this..

“To call woman the weaker sex is a libel; it is man’s injustice to woman. If by strength is meant brute strength, then, indeed, is woman less brute than man. If by strength is meant moral power, then woman is immeasurably man’s superior. Has she not greater intuition, is she not more self-sacrificing, has she not greater powers of endurance, has she not greater courage? Without her, man could not be. If nonviolence is the law of our being, the future is with woman. Who can make a more effective appeal to the heart than woman?”

[To the Women of India (Young India, Oct. 4, 1930)]”
― Mahatma Gandhi

Or this..

“It’s the action, not the fruit of the action, that’s important. You have to do the right thing. It may not be in your power, may not be in your time, that there’ll be any fruit. But that doesn’t mean you stop doing the right thing. You may never know what results come from your action. But if you do nothing, there will be no result.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

Have a good day dear friends!

Love, Suresh

Leave a Reply

