Video

MasterCard CEO Ajay Banga : Taking Risks in Life & Career..

16 Aug

“Did I win? Did I lose? Those are the wrong questions. The correct question is: Did I make my best effort?” If so, he says, “You may be outscored but you will never lose.”
―  Carol S. Dweck, Mindset: The New Psychology of Success 

I very much want to share this wonderful interview at Stanford with MasterCard CEO Ajay Banga for you dear friends! I have great admiration for Vinod Khosla and Ajay Banga. I had posted Vinod Khosla’s inteview at Stanford earlier and it’s only right that post this illuminating interview for you dear friends. Whenever am depressed or sad  listen to Vinod Khosla’s interview and it always invigorates me and lifts me and Ajay Banga’s interview gives me a beacon of hope.  I like learning and my education comes from these and doing things. My friends have great credentials. Me a humble learner..

I have no idea where life takes me and live for the day. I am just grateful that have met my teacher and school friends. I have had a different journey. But very much want to share Ajay Banga’s interview for you dear friends as it reinforces my theme of life ” Learnability”. It concurs with Carol Dwecks study on ” growth mindset”.

To quote Ajay Banga :

”  If you have energy and passion to drive in a direction and if you can communicate well, there is a whole new world out there.”

” You are one person and you can make a difference.”

” You can learn from everybody. It changes everything.”

” If you are willing to learn, adapt, adjust and progress in your mind..”

” I  think this thing,  ” you are born this way or that way is given  too much credence”, Your mind is capable of a great deal, learning, adapting, comphrending, disciplining, operating in a method you care for… your early experiences and values you pick up that makes a difference. But you pick it up as you go along.”

” You got to be willing to take risks with your life and career…”

” You pick it up as you go along and you are capable of changing yourself, as you go along…”

This is a ” growth mindset.” A ” Learning mindset ” this is my humble philosophy in life. You can go to all the great schools, but you can also work hard and learn and master…

Leonard Cohen in a interview had alluded ” There is no fixed self”. I believe so..

Ajay Banga is a inspiration and truly a global achiever and for more of his thoughts on leadership : http://qz.com/377104/ajay-bangas-six-lessons-on-leadership-as-told-to-the-iim-a-class-of-2015/

We all have cognitive biases and tend to undermine things, but human mind is capable of a great deal of learning, if we truly apply ourselves..

I leave you with a quote from great Carol Dweck

” “If parents want to give their children a gift, the best thing they can do is to teach their children to love challenges, be intrigued by mistakes, enjoy effort, and keep on learning. That way, their children don’t have to be slaves of praise. They will have a lifelong way to build and repair their own confidence.”
―  Carol S. Dweck

Do try, always praise for effort, willingness to work hard, for never giving up, this will really serve the child well in life’s challenges..

The only thing that share with Inspirational Ajay Banga is love of Lady Gaga:)

No, love learning too..:)

I hope you take the path of learning, comphrending and disciplining mind and who know you may become some one stellar.

The interviewer, a young boy is very good and aksed good questions and hope you like this Stanford interview with MasterCard CEO Ajay Banga.

Goodnight Friends! Enjoy what you are doing and keep learning..

Love, Suresh

Leave a Reply

