David Boies

20 May

” Reading has nothing to do with intelligence. It’s just one way of getting information. The important thing is how a person processes that information, the kind of person we are, the contributions we make, and the kind of utility we have for society. ”

―David Boies

I had first read about David Boies in articles by Malcolm Gladwell and Marshall Goldsmith. The star American lawyer is very right. It is how we processes information that is most important. Knowledge and intelligence are two things. Both may aid each other right friends but they are two things. And the most important thing of all is the kind person we are and contributions we make. David Boies is so very right. I also remember writing down in my notebook a quote from a Drew Gilpin Faust, President of Harvard university ” Humility is what makes learning possible – the sense of ignorance fueling the desire to overcome it.”

” Life is not a timed examination. There are very few times in life when what really matters is whether you can do something in 50 minutes, as opposed to 75. What matters is how well you’re able to do it.” ( David Boies on overcoming dyslexia)

This is so true. Many times society measures success or calibre as passing this examination or that examination. I think in life every thing can be achieved with concentration and diligence. That is why relate to the star lawyer’s observation. Your’s truly has so far been able to do all that came his way. David Boies is right it’s how well you are able to do it is what matters”

Please do read : http://dyslexia.yale.edu/boies.html

And this too : http://www.fastcompany.com/53175/skill-separates

Finally for all students and also for professionals :

” The way Boies processes written information is by first skimming a text to pick out the salient points. Then, by slowing down and focusing exclusively on these, he is able to analyze them critically and grasp the essence of the text. It is this unique ability that enables Boies to handle the large volume of reading required for his work, and that helped him excel in college and law school, despite his poor performance on timed tests. ”

I learnt this is the best way to study, my doctor friend had taught me, could not make use of same in studies but have used it in my work regularly. I work on the basis of notes in my writing books..

I think most important thing is humility, it makes all learning possible. Right dear friends.

I remember a friend of mine telling me long ago ” I think am getting Eucalyptus ( Mere ko lagta hain eucalyptus ho gaya).” I had  smilingly corrected ” Not Eucalyptus. Epilepsy.”  You see my friend had not processed information right 🙂

Goodnight friends! I think my friend will kill me for stating this here, never mind..

Have a lovely day!

Love, Suresh

Leave a Reply

