Sad yesterday, Now Happy

6 May

I was sad yesterday

My sister had sensed something

And asked ” Are you like this everyday”

She had not seen me in many late evenings

“No”  had protested, my heaviness

giving into porous vulnerability

” Am sad today,  past no good “

She had said ” Dosen’t matter, if past is good”

Women know, seem to have inbuilt practical lever

I had my dinner, it was my mother’s birthday

Me and my brother drove home

My mother waved at us happily as we left..

I am determined and do not give up

I searched for a childhood friend

So delighted came across him

My memories flooded with happiness

The cycling through university roads

The playing near his home

His blue half -sweater so clean

He was one of the best of my generation

Beautiful boy, squeaky clean and spiky hair

Brighter than any one met, have met few

More than that a joyful heartful  laughter

Happy spirit and his parents so wonderful

This is my friend Prashant

Thirty years on

My past is good..

My beautiful friend Prashant Kulkarni..

I  learnt from experimenting, a single thought can make you happy or sad. Although we can’t escape frailities of human condition , we can search for a happy thought. It takes just one thought and one deed to make us happy. Am not perfect, some times come on too strongly, but love all my childhood friends.  I am now happy have interacted with every one from my childhood. I hope some forgive me because have never escaped childhood..

“Once a little boy sent me a charming card with a little drawing on it. I loved it. I answer all my children’s letters — sometimes very hastily — but this one I lingered over. I sent him a card and I drew a picture of a Wild Thing on it. I wrote, “Dear Jim: I loved your card.” Then I got a letter back from his mother and she said, “Jim loved your card so much he ate it.” That to me was one of the highest compliments I’ve ever received. He didn’t care that it was an original Maurice Sendak drawing or anything. He saw it, he loved it, he ate it.”
―  Maurice Sendak

This post is dedicated to my childhood hero Prashant Kulkarni and also my mother. I want her to be happy.

Good night friends!  Love and light. Suresh

Leave a Reply

