International Women’s Day 2015

8 Mar

” In 2015, International Women’s Day, celebrated globally on 8 March, will highlight the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action, a historic roadmap signed by 189 governments 20 years ago that sets the agenda for realizing women’s rights. While there have been many achievements since then, many serious gaps remain.

This is the time to uphold women’s achievements, recognize challenges, and focus greater attention on women’s rights and gender equality to mobilize all people to do their part. The Beijing Platform for Action focuses on 12 critical areas of concern, and envisions a world where each woman and girl can exercise her choices, such as participating in politics, getting an education, having an income, and living in societies free from violence and discrimination.  ”

Source : http://www.unwomen.org/en/news/in-focus/international-womens-day

Today is International women’s day and my humble individual experience is thus…
1. The only person that looked up to apart from my father has been a woman. She taught me to work hard, study hard and be generous. I met her in my early twenties and we were friends since she decided on a different course. The great Indian marriage. She remains my only infuence and reference apart my father.
2.  I have a sister. I have many sisters in my extended family. My sisters friends were also like sisters to me. I love them all and each one is lovely and gave one kindness and affection. I grew up around women. My life would have been soulless and poorer without them.
3. After my father passed away for seven years lived with my mother and sister. My brother was away rehabilitating in a different city. My mother and sister know me best. I still text my sister and ask what to eat when am unwell.
4. My most beloved and favorite teacher from school is a fine lady.
5. My best memory of school are boys and girls. Girls from school’s studied were lovely. They had no attitude of today, they were classy, intelligent and lovely.
6 When went to junior college, the jesuit school and college stopped taking girls, but the batch senior had girls, they were some of the loveliest women that have seen. I guess they became toppers and joined medical school. I remember them. They were such fine examples. The priest’s in any case do not know everything.
7. The only unconditional love that have felt is for women. I wish them well.
8. In my career the highest executive that have worked with is a fine and elegant lady.
9. My best friends are and have been women. They give the best advice. They are very kind.
10. My mother, my sister, my cousin sisters, my friends, my aunts. You see in my life women have been more kind to me than men. There have been numerous incidents in my life when a woman has had a kind word or gesture. The only men who have been kind to me is my manager, my father and a friend. Just three men.
So owe lot to women, am supporter of women’s right and feel girl child is not only special but most beautiful creation of god and universe, is there anything more beautiful and lovely? may be a flower, perhaps nature..
I feel organizations which truly inculcate diversity and have women in leadership roles are the best..
My own journey of life has taken me away from “ideologies and isms “. For me its a limited set. A null set.  I believe ”  truth is a direct experience of reality “. So am no ideologue, I believe the world has been unfair to women..
I believe the way women are treated in my country and else where is a disgrace. The greatest victims of atrocities are women and children. The most impoverished lot are women and children. It pains me no end..
If we can’t give a fair society to women and ensure their safety, we are Neanderthals or may be worse..
Nothing will change unless the mindset is changed,the outdated cultural codes,societal norms, religious beliefs,  the girl child needs to be focus of every government, every city council, every mayor, every parliament , every college, every school and dare i say every religion..
It is true educate a girl, the entire family progresses, the Grameen bank experiment is a triumph of girl child and women as much as of micro credit..
Women are societies  best hope aganist poverty and also extremist ideologies..
I love women. Does that mean have had no challenges with women, ofcourse  I have and my greatest personal challenges..
Does that mean there no bad women? of course there are, prisons are a testimony to that.. Just as there are good and bad men, there are good and bad women. But chances are women are much less likely to be deviant  in overall numbers. Thus more fairer in conduct and decision making..
Generally think men and women both need to grow as people, men need to shed their chauvinist behaviour and women their insecurities..
My journey states the spiritual growth in a individual can really help to see ” We are all one..” ( The Gita teaches ” Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam ” ” The whole world is one family” )
Then we will truly live in a just world.
My visits to hospitals have also taught me, women are a life force, life givers, care takers while men generally gloat..
Every woman is a tour de force, she is more capable than you think..
What can I say?
I owe everything to women, my father and my friends!
Happy International Women’s Day 2015 ! Have a lovely day friends!
Love, Suresh
Leave a Reply

