Video

Joan Baez – Diamonds And Rust

6 Jan

” Do you feel a outsider ?” my friend had asked me and the answer is ” Yes”. The only sense of belonging that probably feel is to school. My goal is ” to blend in, go with the tide, explore oneness.”

I want to share a great song today, a singer am in awe of, perhap’s a person  in awe of, Joan Baez and the song is ” Diamonds And Rust”. I am not sure if have shared this here before or the Judas priest version. Nevertheless, this  for you dear friends.

DIAMONDS AND RUST
(Words and Music by Joan Baez)

Well I’ll be damned
Here comes your ghost again
But that’s not unusual
It’s just that the moon is full
And you happened to call
And here I sit
Hand on the telephone
Hearing a voice I’d known
A couple of light years ago
Heading straight for a fall

As I remember your eyes
Were bluer than robin’s eggs
My poetry was lousy you said
Where are you calling from?
A booth in the midwest
Ten years ago
I bought you some cufflinks
You brought me something
We both know what memories can bring
They bring diamonds and rust

Well you burst on the scene
Already a legend
The unwashed phenomenon
The original vagabond
You strayed into my arms
And there you stayed
Temporarily lost at sea
The Madonna was yours for free
Yes the girl on the half-shell
Would keep you unharmed

Now I see you standing
With brown leaves falling around
And snow in your hair
Now you’re smiling out the window
Of that crummy hotel
Over Washington Square
Our breath comes out white clouds
Mingles and hangs in the air
Speaking strictly for me
We both could have died then and there

Now you’re telling me
You’re not nostalgic
Then give me another word for it
You who are so good with words
And at keeping things vague
Because I need some of that vagueness now
It’s all come back too clearly
Yes I loved you dearly
And if you’re offering me diamonds and rust
I’ve already paid

© 1975 Chandos Music (ASCAP)

Source ( Lyrics) : http://www.joanbaez.com/lyrics/diamonds.html

I love this song and it’s very beautifully written. Please see : ” Now you’re telling me /You’re not nostalgic /Then give me another word for it /You who are so good with words /And at keeping things vague /
Because I need some of that vagueness now …” or ” Well you burst on the scene /Already a legend /The unwashed phenomenon /The original vagabond /You strayed into my arms /And there you stayed
Temporarily lost at sea /The Madonna was yours for free /Yes the girl on the half-shell /Would keep you unharmed…”

The song is for Dylan. If  Dylan is a legend, so is Joan Baez..

What can I say?

I always  craved a  life that would have a mission, a purpose and one should give one’s all to a purpose. Joan Baez stand’s so tall in her mission, activist, singer, legend..

If you are a fan or in awe like me , please do read this feature : http://www.theguardian.com/music/2014/aug/31/joan-baez-singer-activist-peacenik-lover-legend-royal-festival-hall

In this interesting article she says ” I was aware that my relationships didn’t last, but I was going round in circles trying to work out what the problem was. I came to the answer through therapy. My therapist sent me to all sorts of places in an attempt to make me dig it up – art, dance – until we got there. I was scared of intimacy. Many, many people have the same problem because when you are intimate that is when you open yourself up to another person. I was always looking for a way out. It wasn’t that I turned to cigarettes or drugs. I turned to something that I want to do (activism) and I was lucky that I was able to do good for other people. I was 50 when I decided I wasn’t going to live like that any more. ”

I think only great people are selfless..

Yes, memories bring diamonds and rust, as she has sung recently ” Yes I loved you dearly /And if you’re offering me diamonds and rust/
I’ll keep the diamonds 🙂

Goodnight friends! Hope you have a lovely day!

Thank you!

 

Leave a Reply

