Quote

Rumi ( Morning Breeze)

12 Nov

 

“The breezes at dawn have secrets to tell you
Don’t go back to sleep!
You must ask for what you really want.
Don’t go back to sleep!
People are going back and forth
across the doorsill where the two worlds touch,
The door is round and open
Don’t go back to sleep!”

― Rumi

I had seen a interview with a spiritual teacher (Swami Parthasarathy) and he said  all of his ten books were  written between 4am and 6 am. None later. I was very impressed. He called it ” satvik time.” Swami Parthasarathy is a vedic teacher and is pretty electic runs 3 miles a day, plays cricket, teaches Vedanta and gives corporate discourses. A minor detail is 87 years old. I will share that interview in a post.

It reminded me of my childhood. My father would wake me up to study between 4 and 6 am. My father would help me in making a study time -table. I would study and then fall asleep again at 6am. This was about the time in school. Those were the best years of my life.

I guess am a morning person. I woke up at 5.55 am today. The alarm clock of child hood ( time pieces) have been replaced by mobile phones. I realised to get up at 4 one would have to sleep by 9.30 pm 0r 10 pm. Impossible in modern times.

I remember reading Sheryl Sandberg starts work at 7 am . I think that’s terrific. America is a hard working country my friend had told me. I would love a job that starts early and finishes early. I am a morning person.

As for Swami Parthasarathy , one of my ex colleagues many years ago  told me ” Swamiji is his uncle” and guess they have same initials ” A”..

This for today, think should go  back to a “time piece” to get up early again and chuck that mobile phone 🙂

And Rumi is always right ” The breezes at dawn have secrets to tell you/Don’t go back to sleep/ You must ask for what you really want/Don’t go back to sleep..”

Have a lovely day my friends!

Thank you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

