Video

Leonard Cohen – Chelsea Hotel #2 (1985)

29 Oct

I want to share a song. I thought about this song.  Chelsea Hotel #2 and the little story is always a favorite . But before that …

I met my father’s freind today for lunch. I spent time discussing  about his running. He told me to guess his age now. I refused smilingly. He persisted. I gave up. He told me he will be seventy soon. We don’t give a damn about age. He is such a terrific runner. I kept asking him more about the exercises and mechanics of running. He is near scientiffic in preparation. I gained more knowledge. He is my inspiration. I asked him about the first time ” he ran” and he replied ” It was perforce.”  He narrated a childhood incident of missing a bus from college and had to run 12 miles back because he was scared of dark and there was no method of communciating with home. We spoke more and me listened in admiration. I like my father’s friend immensely. I think he has better physique than Akshay Kumar 🙂

Then we visited a family.  My mother’s friend. I had grown up in front of them. I had not met them for more than a decade and half. My mother’s friend had not lost even a little bit of her joyous self.  She remembered my birthdate. I was silently grateful. I was meeting her after such a long time. She is incredibly funny and regaled all of us. I realised if you are a happy soul, your children grow up well, the whole ambience of home is delightful. So all you parents be happy okay. I insist.

Of course my mother scolded me after reaching home. How I wish…

Now the song.  I thought about sharing another song. But this is a wonderful song. Hope you like it and  the story..

Chelsea Hotel #2 : Leonard Cohen

(Story)

Every concert that I give, I dedicate this song to a great American singer that I met one night in an elevator in a shabby hotel in New York City. It was a… it was a fine elevator. We found ourselves there often… I don’t, I don’t know what she was doing there. I think she was looking for Kris Kristofferson. I told her that I was Kris Kristofferson. But she said, “I thought he was bigger.” I said that I used to be bigger but I’d been sick. And we spent a little time together. And I loved the way that she sang… and she died for some odd reason, and sometime later, I think I was sitting at a bar in a Polynesian restaurant in Miami Beach–I don’t know what I was doing there, either… I have no program, I have no five-year plan. I just… (applause) It doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t have one! I just move from hotel to hotel, and from bar to bar, and by the grace of the One above occasionally a song comes, and I remember sitting at this particularly obnoxious Polynesian restaurant where they served a kind of coconut drink that was particularly lethal and sinister which contained no alcohol but a certain chemical that demoralized you entirely. And I remember writing on one of their very badly designed napkins, “I remember you well at the Chelsea Hotel…” , so I dedicate this song to one of the great singers, Janis Joplin.

Chelsea Hotel #2 :

I remember you well in the Chelsea Hotel,

you were talking so brave and so sweet,

giving me head on the unmade bed,

while the limousines wait in the street.

Those were the reasons and that was New York,

we were running for the money and the flesh.

And that was called love for the workers in song

probably still is for those of them left.

 

Ah but you got away, didn’t you babe,

you just turned your back on the crowd,

you got away, I never once heard you say,

I need you, I don’t need you,

I need you, I don’t need you

and all of that jiving around.

 

I remember you well in the Chelsea Hotel

you were famous, your heart was a legend.

You told me again you preferred handsome men

but for me you would make an exception.

And clenching your fist for the ones like us

who are oppressed by the figures of beauty,

you fixed yourself, you said, “Well never mind,

we are ugly but we have the music.”

 

And then you got away, didn’t you babe…

Ah you just turned your back on the crowd,

you got away, I never once heard you say,

I need you, I don’t need you,

I need you, I don’t need you

and all of that jiving around.

 

I don’t mean to suggest that I loved her the best,

I can’t keep track of each fallen robin.

I remember her well in the Chelsea Hotel,

that’s all, I don’t even think of her that often.

Source : http://www.leonardcohenfiles.com/warsaw-85-2.html

I want to thank  my friends who made the exception of thinking of me …

I pray you develop a childlike passion for some sport like my father’s friend, that is perhaps elixir of youth, hope you always remain happy and funny like my mother’s friend, you and your children will have great lives, that is perhaps elixir of life..

As for me ” I need you, I need you, I need you,..” 🙂

Goodnight my friends! Hope you have a lovely day!

Thank you!

 

 

 

 


					
Leave a Reply

