Serena Williams and Caroline Wozniacki

8 Sep

I am a Serena Williams fan. The focus has long been on Roger Federer as the greatest tennis player of all time. Serena has done one better now with 18th Grand slam title. She is not only a great player but a legend. Ofcourse its the great steffi Graf who stand tall with 22 Grand slam titles.  I have great respect for Caroline Wozniacki. She is a former World No.1 and had a brilliant run in this US open 2014! The Grand slam titles will surely come. The championship battle was also fought between friends. The camraderie is refreshing and so nice to see.

serena caro us open

I felt this time might be a breakthrough year for Caroline Wozniacki. She had a great run and perhaps needed redemption personally. It was not to be, the next best thing could only have been her friend the great Serena Williams winning the championship. I think its perhaps near impossible to beat Serena williams, only a player in a rare zone who outperforms her potential or a occasional bad day for the great player will let that happen. Women tennis has great competitors, Serena Williams, Maria Sharapova,Li Na,Caroline Wozniacki..

Serena Williams:

” Yes, it was definitely the number 18. I have been trying to reach it for so long, since last year. Well, since the beginning of the year. I didn’t really think would I get there. I just felt so good.”

“It means a lot to me. You know, I just could never have imagined that I would be mentioned with Chris Evert or with Martina Navratilova, because I was just a kid with a dream and a racquet. Living in Compton, you know, this never happened before. You know, I just never could have imagined that it could have ended — not ended. I’m just beginning. Well, I’m not beginning, but I could have gotten this far, you know. So it was just — I think it was — and then it was eluding me for three tournaments, I guess. But, still that’s a lot for me. I was like, you know, really excited to get it.”

” No, none of the matches are easy. I mean, even today if I would have lost a game I would have been serving for it. Caroline was returning, starting to play a lot better, starting to return really, really well, and then she started serving really well. So we had longer points and we were running back and forth and back and forth. So it definitely wasn’t anything that was easy.”

” I’m already looking at maybe No. 19.  So I’m not thinking about it so much as — I think once you do you become a little satisfied. I have said this before: I don’t want to become that. I want to continue to rise and continue to play really hard and do the best that I can.”

“Yeah, just after Wimbledon I was just so disappointed. Because like I said, I worked so hard. Six hours literally just training, training, training, nonstop. After that, I thought, Well, maybe I shouldn’t train so much because the results aren’t coming. Maybe I should just, you know, try something new. I just went away for a week and a half and I didn’t practice as much. I practiced, but I didn’t practice as long. I made sure I hit every day. At that moment I also realized I just needed to relax a little more. I put a lot of pressure on myself. I don’t have to put pressure on myself, because like I said, I don’t have to win another title. I always have my little 18 bracelet now. I’m good to go. ”

” I always say it’s difficult to beat me because I serve pretty good, I have a pretty good return, I’m pretty fast. If I’m doing all those things combined, you know, it’s definitely difficult to win.”

” She’s funny, she’s nice, she’s supportive. She’s just really, really sweet. You know, she’s a sweet person. I think I can kind of take my wall down a little bit with her and I can be who I am. It’s nice when you can do that with someone. Yeah, it makes it really nice. ” ( On Caroline Wozniacki)

Please see more from Serena Williams post match interview : http://www.usopen.org/en_US/news/interviews/2014-09-07/201409071410136593810.html

Caroline Wozniacki:

” Well, when she’s on her game it’s not fun to play her. You know, she’s so strong. She has a good serve and she puts pressure on you straightaway. You know, today I went out there and I was a little nervous. I had a game plan in mind, but it was kind of difficult at the start. I tried to push her back, but that really didn’t work for me. She really just stepped in and she was playing aggressive. She was playing better than me today.”

“I was a little nervous going out there. When you walk into the stadium and people are screaming so loud you can’t hear what you’re thinking yourself, so it’s kind of overwhelming. But it’s such a cool experience. I just wanted to get a good start. I knew that against Serena, you have to have a good start, otherwise she starts going in and being even more aggressive. You know, you’re kind of done. So, you know, I didn’t get the start I wanted. Then all of a sudden see myself going behind and it’s tough to get back.”

” Well, when you’re out there — we’re both competitors and we both want to win, so we’re both going to do anything possible to win the match. You know, after the match we’re friends again. You know, it’s tennis. It’s a game. But off the court we’re still — we still care equally as much about each other. It doesn’t really change.”

” Yeah, definitely. I think her results and her career says it all: 18 Grand Slam titles. You don’t get that unless you’re exceptional in what you do. You know, she is one of the greatest of all time. You know, to have 18 Grand Slam titles and still be the person she is is really something very rare. You know, I admire her both on and off the court. I definitely think when Serena is on her game there’s not much we can do. So, you know, I think that’s why she has so many titles that she has.” ( On Serena Williams)

“I don’t believe that talent can beat everything. You know, she’s a hard worker. She works hard every day, just like us, but when she needs to she can pull out that big serve. She has the power. She can push us back on the court and take the initiative. You know, she definitely has the experience now, as well. I think that makes it even harder, because maybe back in the day she might have made not the right choices. Now she knows what she needs to do out there, and it makes it even harder to beat her.”

” Well, definitely it does a lot. You know, I have had a great two weeks here. I have played really well this summer. I have won so many matches. And Serena has stopped me three times. They say three times lucky. I was hoping for that today. I’m going to try four times lucky the next time. (Smiling.) But, you know, I feel like I’m on the right path. I have been playing really well, so hopefully I can finish off the year strong and have a good start to next year.”

I think she will be a Grand slam champion soon and for more of Caroline Wozniacki‘s gracious post match interview:http://www.usopen.org/en_US/news/interviews/2014-09-07/201409071410134563907.html

legend

Serena Williams is at par with the greats Chris Evert and Martina Navratilova. They were such great players of my generation.

Some questions : Do sweet people lose? What does it take to be a Champion?

I think good or bad has nothing to do with winning, its impersonal, whoever does right things wins, if a champion is nice and gracious, we love them, if they are not, they are still champions, world likes them..

I think most of the world, 80 percent of world is good people, of course bad exists, the 20 percent …

I think good then ” must want to win badly and have stubborness bordering on cussedness”..

Serena Williams is a legend and Caroline Wozniacki is brave champion. To go through a public break up and bounce back is champion stuff . I tend to go to a shell and worry if a beloved one is not talking, she is heroic compared to me.

Iam inspired by both Serena Williams and Caroline Wozniacki . Hope you have a lovely day dear friends!

Thank you!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

