Video

The Traveling Wilburys : My Back Pages

28 Aug

” Ah, but I was so much older then
I’m younger than that now “

I came across this brilliant song and act only yesterday. The super act comprises of great artistes and the song is brilliant.  Please see this  Dylan song

My Back Pages : Bob Dylan

Crimson flames tied through my ears
Rollin’ high and mighty traps
Pounced with fire on flaming roads
Using ideas as my maps
“We’ll meet on edges, soon,” said I
Proud ’neath heated brow
Ah, but I was so much older then
I’m younger than that now

Half-wracked prejudice leaped forth
“Rip down all hate,” I screamed
Lies that life is black and white
Spoke from my skull. I dreamed
Romantic facts of musketeers
Foundationed deep, somehow
Ah, but I was so much older then
I’m younger than that now

Girls’ faces formed the forward path
From phony jealousy
To memorizing politics
Of ancient history
Flung down by corpse evangelists
Unthought of, though, somehow
Ah, but I was so much older then
I’m younger than that now

A self-ordained professor’s tongue
Too serious to fool
Spouted out that liberty
Is just equality in school
“Equality,” I spoke the word
As if a wedding vow
Ah, but I was so much older then
I’m younger than that now

In a soldier’s stance, I aimed my hand
At the mongrel dogs who teach
Fearing not that I’d become my enemy
In the instant that I preach
My pathway led by confusion boats
Mutiny from stern to bow
Ah, but I was so much older then
I’m younger than that now

Yes, my guard stood hard when abstract threats
Too noble to neglect
Deceived me into thinking
I had something to protect
Good and bad, I define these terms
Quite clear, no doubt, somehow
Ah, but I was so much older then
I’m younger than that now

This 1964 song is  written by a twenty three year old Bob Dylan!!!!! It seems apt for me now, am old, ancient forty three…..
My school friend who is no more told me when we were young , ” some people are born old and you are that way and he would give analogy of a yesteryear Bollywood movie star ( Raj Kapoor) alluding to thinking…” This when we were teenagers, its sad my friend couldn’t cope with challenges of time, me survived. Let’s just say , his name was Milind. He was a good soul. He would meet me. Too sensitive.
This song is also about forsaking some of those fiery ideals, to see the world in black and white..
Bob Dylan is such a good poet , please see ” Fearing not that I’d become my enemy/In the instant that I preach..” or ” A self-ordained professor’s tongue/Too serious to fool…”
The superact ” The Traveling Wilburys”  is just what it is, greatness ++++++….Bob Dylan, George Harrison, Neil Young, Tom Petty & Eric Clapton…
I wrote about my hometown yesterday and schools, life till sixteen, let’s say life from sixteen to thirty was patchwork, thirty till date survival, and am going to live and live well now onwards…
I want to write  a new “preamble” for myself..
I have faith and do not feel old…
I feel young and hopefully accumulated some good karma..
I hope you have faith and believe in me too, cos…
” Ah, but I was so much older then
I’m younger than that now”..
This is such a brilliant song and act. Hope you like this as much as enjoyed sharing dear friends. This also for my freind.
Have a lovely day! Thank you!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

