Innocence alone can be passionate : J krishnamurti

16 Aug

Innocence alone can be passionate :

“Innocence alone can be passionate. The innocent have no sorrow, no suffering, though they have had a thousand experiences. It is not experiences that corrupt the mind but what they leave behind, the residue, the scars, the memories. These accumulate, pile one on top of the other, and then sorrow begins. This sorrow is time. Where time is, innocency is not. Passion is not born of sorrow. Sorrow is experience, the experience of everyday life, the life of agony and fleeting pleasures, fears and certainties. You cannot escape from experiences, but they need not take root in the mind. These roots give rise to problems, conflicts and constant struggle. There is no way out of this but to die each day to every yesterday. The clear mind alone can be passionate. Without passion you cannot see the breeze among the leaves or the sunlight on the water. Without passion there is no love.”

Krishnamurti Foundation Trust Bulletin 4, 1969

Source: http://www.jkrishnamurti.org/krishnamurti-teachings/view-daily-quote/20140125.php

This is one of my foundational philosophies of life. Although it makes me feel naive many times. Still never forsake it. Here is why?

If adolescent was restless, twenties was very turbulent. I had a feeling of losing everything dear to me. I felt had lost my whole affective and motivational world. I lost a relationship. I failed a public examination. All my dear friends passed and moved on to great jobs. My father was diagonised of cancer. My  brother had a clinical mental health condition. I had a aborted entreprenuerial effort. I was twenty five  and twenty six and shuttling between hospitals. I was alone. I had to take care of family. I tried to rebuild my life simply by taking up any work, my philosophy was ” not to make an issue of anything” or in other words ” acceptance”. I never spoke about my personal side as much as possible socially or at work. I just went to work and went to a temple everyday after work. I spent ten to twenty minutes there everyday and it gave me peace. I slowly built a regular life and my brother is so fine and gainfully employed now. It took a long time. I embraced innocence as a virtue. It helps in adversity.

It may not help in work situations. I later realised  as people there judge you by their perceptions. Everybody dosen’t have accurate perceptions. For that one has to be a Buddha or blessed with intuition like women. There is a bias towards extroversion in work situations. I  learnt my lessons.  Hopefully things will be fine there too. As a caveat, “acceptance” is great for execution or implementation, imagine a talker entrusted with important functions? Can you talk out of trouble? that will not work, so it has value in work too, its just underated and good entreprenuers understand that.

An innocent mindset can lead to more ” doing”, more gets done, if we do not create bubble around it..

I like intelligence, innocence and integrity. And love. Children have these in tons. It is the innocent mind which is intelligent mind.

The great master,  Jiddu Krishnamurti, says ” There is no way out of this but to die each day to every yesterday”. This is so true. I had read a fine practice of ” meditating for twenty minutes before going to sleep” in a article by Padmasree Warrior,  Chief Technology & Strategy Officer (CTO) of Cisco Systems. I thought she was brilliant. To try and not carry today’s problems to tomorrow.  Let today be buried as today. I think even trying to blank our mind and focusing on breathing can also help. I try to do this before sleep. I fail sometimes. I succeed sometimes. I always try.

Finally the great master is right “The clear mind alone can be passionate. Without passion you cannot see the breeze among the leaves or the sunlight on the water. Without passion there is no love.”. The drive, passion , desire to do things come from innocence. It is a belief. It is also peace and courage!  It is also Zen!

I try to be true to my experiences and share my journey in good faith dear freinds.  I feel ” Acceptance” or ” Innocence” has a great virtue. We can build on honesty. One can’t build on lies. Hope you find it useful dear friends! Ihave nothing but love for you and  like the great Bob Dylan sang in ” Forever young” :

” May God bless and keep you always
May your wishes all come true
May you always do for others
And let others do for you
May you build a ladder to the stars
And climb on every rung
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young

May you grow up to be righteous
May you grow up to be true
May you always know the truth
And see the lights surrounding you
May you always be courageous
Stand upright and be strong
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young

May your hands always be busy
May your feet always be swift
May you have a strong foundation
When the winds of changes shift
May your heart always be joyful
May your song always be sung
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young ”

” May God bless and keep you always, May your wishes all come true, May your song always be sung, May you stay forever young”..

Have a lovely day dear friends! Thank you!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

