Osho

1 Aug

” Happiness is one pole, sadness is another. Blissfulness is one pole, misery is another. Life consists of both, and life is a ritual because of both. A life only of blissfulness will have extension, but will not have depth. A life of only sadness will have depth, but will not have extension. A life of both sadness and blissfulness is multi dimensional; it moves in all dimensions together. Watch the statue of Buddha or sometimes look into my eyes and you will find both together – a blissfulness, a peace, a sadness also. You will find a blissfulness which contains in it sadness also, because that sadness gives it depth. Watch Buddha’s statue – blissful, but still sad. The very word ‘sad’ gives you wrong connotations – that something is wrong. This is your interpretation.

To me, life in its totality is good. And when you understand life in its totality, only then can you celebrate; otherwise not. Celebration means: whatsoever happens is irrelevant – I will celebrate. Celebration is not conditional on certain things: “When I am happy then I will celebrate,” or, “When I am unhappy I will not celebrate.”

Celebration is unconditional; I celebrate life. ”

―Osho

Source: http://www.osho.com/read/featured-articles/emotional-ecology/celebrate-misery!

I have had mostly one experience of life and that is ” depth”. I have had little “extensions “. I could do with happiness now and more extensions. I have been saved by sense of humour, friends and love for people. But could do with more happiness, more celebration..

I learnt recently from my workshop ” life is meaningless and the meaning we attach to it is what becomes of it.” It is true.  I miss my father. I  often wonder if the world remembers him? he was so good and loving while he was here? I am sure you have same questions about a dear departed one. Truth is then life has no meaning. What we create is life.  Hence life is not to be taken seriously. We must create a life we want and it is our choice.  And we can do it. We can be whatever we want to be!

I have also learnt life is a series of ” happenings” or ” occurences”.   A relationship gone wrong is a happening. A loss in business is a occurence. It is not us. We must not build a story or interpretation around it. We must accept things as they are and embrace life with a smile and grace. ( I learnt this first in Ramesh S. Balsekar‘s writings, he simply calls them as “That actions are ‘happenings’ and not something done by someone. This understanding is what actually contributes to and helps us in discovering the state of equanimity and peace which we most ardently seek.” ) Or in simple terms ” God’s will”. And ” Remember, Red, hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies...” ( The Shawshank Redemption). Remember…

I also learnt being reasonable never makes us happy. Happiness is outside our comfort zone.  Remember Wright brothers who flew for first time or Alexander Graham bell who invented the telephone, Neil Armstong stepping on the moon, these are all unreasonable actions. Happiness ,love and success is a leap of faith.  Reason is status quo.

I believe every one is a flower. Every being is a beautiful flower.  Do not be a withering flower. I was one for a long time.  Be a smiling blooming flower!

A rose, tulip,lily, sun flower, Daffodils, Hyacinth….each one different, each one a flower, each one a magical flower.

We have one life and celebrate life dear friends!

Have a lovely day! Thank you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

