Memory lane

21 Jun

I had met my friend for a day and was impressed with his spirit of freedom and purpose. I decided to break self imposed shackles and take a walk in the city. I took public transport and just took a trip. I revisited my life.

Memory lane:

I walked by the streets,

Entered the watch store

More by habit than need

I need no more and besides

I have given it all

 

I continued my walk

The lanes familiar,

A new generation 

And may be two on road

Stepped into a garden from another time

Middle class women and a lone good girl

More by habit than need

I need no more and besides

I have given it all

 

I remember the Oncology clinic

My father, me and my father’s freind

We would always be together

My father was so dear to me,

My father’s friend so very kind

I choose not to enter the lane

I need no more and besides

I have given it all

 

I keep walking and ponder

Should i try a new street food?

I see some new stuff 

Some variant from times

I remind myself

I am two generations older

Them kids and bikes

I need no more and besides

I have given it all

 

I keep walking and see another clinic

Let’s not name this time

Many sessions and nothing fruitful

So many medicines bought

I remember it all

I trample  that memory successfully

I need no more and besides

I have given it all

 

I keep walking and wonder

Should i visit the tattoo shop ?

I need one more but not for now

Do I step into book shop

I was carrying my reading glasses

Carelessly thrown in shirt pocket

My alibi to the world..

I choose the book shop

Found a title and three fell down

500 bucks and 10 percent discount

He says twice and another one distracting me

“American Gigolo” and 75 bucks

Uncharacteristically walk away

I need no more and besides

I have given it all

 

I wanted to walk more

Street food distracting me

Sometimes feel kids those pretty girls

And boys with wallets live just to eat

But they look good, they always do..

What would be streets without them?

I take a detour  and just to check

A memory down the lane and another clinic

This for symbol of love and not sickness

Oh, the clinic is no more and a coffee bar now

You have memories and you chicken

The situation long gone

And how could you?

I met my ghosts and kept walking

The clinic haunts  no more,

My friend a child and two

Did you visit the place and more ?

I need no more and besides

I have given it all

 

I walk back and am tired

I see research lab

And the Diabetologist clinic

I do not want to see clinic’s no more

But such has been dear life my friends

You who have not seen me since was a boy

Two generations more and now speculate

I lived by clinics, book shops and a mind

“Think different ” and a family

You who are healthy must remember

Greatest blessing can befall is health

Why am i wailing and must feel gratitude

I need no more and besides

I have given it all

 

I had walked to remind

Everything was possible

Everything was a idea

City sights reminded me

Otherwise and  memory lane

Never mind my friends

Sights may be forlorn and same

Somethings are a benediction

The spirit is same

Am still the same

Look at me my friend

Do you remember me?

Image

Do you still remember me?

Hope you have a lovely day dear friends! My day yesterday! Thank you!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

