Video

Bollywood : Woh kaghaz ki kashti : Jagjit and Chitra Singh ( Beautiful Song)

14 May

How are you today dear friends ?

I had a interview today. After a long time spoke to someone who wanted to see my world fairly and keenly. A good man. I hope to make progress. More of that later.

I want to share a beautiful song of my growing up years. This song ” reminiscing childhood” is sung by a great husband and wife duo from these parts, Jagjit and Chitra Singh. In my humble opinion the silken voice laced late Jagjit Singh is sub continent’s finest singers and composers. Hope you like this lovely most endearing song! This song is from 1987 movie Aaj. Please see :http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0156256/

Woh kaghaz ki kashti: ( My paper boat)

Yeh daulat Bhi Le Lo,
Yeh Shohrat Bhi Le Lo,
Bhale Chheen Lo Mujhse Se Meri Jawani,
Magar Mujhko Lauta Do bachpan Ka Sawan..
Woh Kagaz Ki Kashti, woh Baarish Ka Paani..

You may take my wealth
You may take my fame,
Snatch away my youth maybe
But give me back, wings ( showers) of childhood
My paper boat, those rain showers

Muhalle Ki Sabse Nishani Purani
Wo Budhia Jise Bachche Kehte The Naani,
Wo Naani Ki Baaton Me Parion Ka Dera,
Wo Chehre Ki Jhurrion Me Sadiyon Ka pehra,
Bhulaye Nahin Bhul Sakta Hai Koi,
Bhulaye Nahin Bhool Sakta Hai Koi,
Wo Chhoti Si Raaten, Wo Lambi Kahani
Woh Kagaz Ki Kashti, woh Baarish Ka Paani..
Woh Kagaz Ki Kashti, woh Baarish Ka Paani..

My locale’s ( neighborhood’s) oldest living symbol
The old lady, children called as ” granny”
The granny spoke of fairies den
The ageless face and wrinkles thereof
Try as may, you can never forget them
Try as may, you can never forget them
Those little nights, those long stories ( tales)
My paper boat, those rain showers..
My paper boat, those rain showers..

Kadi Dhoop Me Apne Ghar Se Nikalna,
Wo Chidia Wo Bulbul Wo Titli Pakadna ,
Wo Gudia Ki Shaadi Pe Ladna jhagadna,
Wo Jhoolon Se Girna Woh Gir Ke Sambhalna,
Wo Peetal Ke Chhalon Ke Pyare Se Tohfe,
Wo Tooti Hui Choodion Ki Nishani
Wo Kagaz Ki Kashti Wo Baarish Ka Paani,
Wo Kagaz Ki Kashti Wo Baarish Ka Paani
Wo Kagaz Ki Kashti Wo Baarish Ka Paani

In scorching sun, you step out of the house,
Those little birds, those nightingales, to chase those butterflies
To fight and argue at those baby doll’s wedding
To fall from those swaying swings, to fumble and get up again
Those lovely gifts of brass rings ( trinkets)
Those beautiful souvenirs of broken bangles
My paper boat, those rain showers..
My paper boat, those rain showers..
My paper boat, those rain showers..

Kabhi Ret Ke Oonche teeloN Pe Jana
Gharonde Banana, Bana ke Mitana
Wo Masoom Chahat Ki Tasveer Apni
Wo KhwaboN Khilaunon Ki Jaageer Apni
Na Duniya Ka Gam Tha Na RishtoN Ke Bandhan
Badi Khoobsurat Thi Wo Zindagani..

To make sand dunes and climb over them
To make those sand castles and destroy them
Those innocent loving faces of ours
Those wealth of dreams and toys
Nor world’s misery, Nor bond (attachment) of relationships
It was a beautiful life (world )of ours

Yeh daulat Bhi Le Lo,
Yeh Shohrat Bhi Le Lo,
Bhale Chheen Lo Mujhse Se Meri Jawani,
Magar Mujhko Lauta Do bachpan Ka Sawan..
Woh Kagaz Ki Kashti, woh Baarish Ka Paani..
Woh Kagaz Ki Kashti, woh Baarish Ka Paani..
Woh Kagaz Ki Kashti, woh Baarish Ka Paani..

You may take my wealth
You may take my fame,
Snatch away my youth maybe
But give me back, wings of childhood
My paper boat, those rain showers
My paper boat, those rain showers
My paper boat, those rain showers

Some of the songs have beautiful imagery, those are the songs one is attracted to , this is a beautiful song. This song is for the girl child. This is also for every child. I love this song. I loved childhood. No speck, no trauma, everything washed away in rain with a smile, every thing destroyed like a sand castle with a smile. It is beautiful world. It is then a beautiful life.

I love translation and not sure if it’s upto par, but love the idea of translation, hope could capture little bit of beautiful imagery of song. The poet Sudarshan Faakir has written a beautiful song. Jagjit and Chitra Singh are incomparable artistes.

This is then like a Gabriel Garcia Marquez world, a magical song , dedicate this to my beautiful school friends and a beautiful school friend and a beautiful school friend..:)

I have still not unlearned ” Kadi Dhoop Me Apne Ghar Se Nikalna,” To go out in scorching sun or afternoon sun, that’s still my favorite stepping out time šŸ™‚

Have a lovely day! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

