My last Vice ( Astrology)…

28 Apr

“Never say, “O Lord, I am a miserable sinner.” Who will help you? You are the help of the universe. What in this universe can help you? What can prevail over you? You are the God of the universe; where can you seek for help? Never help came from anywhere but from yourself. In your ignorance, every prayer that you made and that was answered, you thought was answered by some Being, but you answered the prayer yourself unknowingly. The help came from yourself, and you fondly imagined that someone was sending help to you. There is no help for you outside of yourself; you are the creator of the universe. Like the silkworm, you have built a cocoon around yourself. Who will save you? Burst your own cocoon and come out as a beautiful butterfly, as the free soul. Then alone you will see Truth.”

―  Swami Vivekananda  (1863 -1902)

For more and a critique : http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Swami-Vivekananda-and-the-making-of-modern-India/articleshow/17991410.cms

The 19th century Indian saint believed ” You cannot believe in God until you believe in yourself.” I find him a life giver like Gandhi, Mandela, Lincoln,  Márquez and all others in the pantheon of greats. May be  super greats : Socrates, Buddha, Christ, Prophet. If ” Self belief” should be a religion. Then may Swami Vivekananda be its greatest patron saint. Iqbal too , many such apostles..

The initial quote is  in context of my perceived last vice. “Astrology.” I have never been active pursuant or believer of astrology. I have had tryst with astrology as most people from my country. I like mystics. I like realized masters. But have a neutral opinion on Astrology. I will narrate my experiences , foolhardy or otherwise with the subject. I want  to overcome my addiction of reading ” Zodiac signs” in newspaper and on news websites first thing in the morning. My resident guru, my sister had warned me ” Don’t read this, it influences our mind.” during one of her visit’s home. She is right! It plays on our minds. It can work as a aphrodisiac and also as a downer. You might  as well call yourself like that Punjabi Indian singer “Yo Yo……  The singer is quite entertaining though 🙂 please see : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NbyHNASFi6U

May be the song was a respite to drab text. I guess share my Zodiac sign with Mandy moore, Pharrell Williams, Keira  Knightley and Mariah Carey . I wonder  why my life is not like theirs then ? or may be must be thankful , that miss ” Hitler” just by a day!  Astrology discounts so much  “talent, skill,  hard work, merit, initiative, struggle, grit, education, determination, sacrifices, suffering, focus, strategy, execution …” And more! May be there is something called as ” Time” . Yes, there is something called as ” grace”.

Did the great Michael Jackson wear a ” precious stone” before doing his signature step or did Usain bolt make a offering to a deity before running hell of a ” sub 10 sec races ” , Did Martin Scorsese ever throw a  ferocious “coconut” in all intensity before starting a project, Did Rakesh sharma aboard Soyuz T-11 and from ” space “say  ” Sare jahaan se acha, panditji hamara  ( from the outer space, our astrologer is the best “…..Unlikely right. 🙂

In fact one of the  writers in a popular mainstream daily here  was a  acquaintance of mine from student  days and am  pleasantly surprised that he became a well known astrologer. Why did he go to college?   When was young and love struck, If liked you for some reason or otherwise, would read your ” Zodiac” too . No wonder ” why my life turned out to be such a blessed one.” Never do it friends 🙂

The eastern philosophy and cultural moorings has given too much credence to the priest, holy man and the astrologer. The mystic and the realized master is one of a rarity. The real ones do not crave for public opinion and have some thing to offer to soul. They are wonderful. There are so many dubious ones too. Rogues. Thief’s. Rapists. Charlatans.

I love realized mystics. I love spirituality. Life has happened to me in such a way that ” soul, prayer, teachings , good people” gave me a anchor. I am so grateful. I pray. I have been to a church retreat. I go to temples. My friend would make me listen to ” Azaan“.. I am all for all religions. I love that life. I am a seeker.

But am wary of astrology! As a child was wary of astrology. I believe had scientific temper as a child. There is no ” fear” as a child. I will try to narrate a few incidents neutrally.

When was 22 years old and while traveling in a Bus with my friend. We were traveling from another city. My friend was a good singer and he was humming a ” old Hindi song”. A rather pious looking man in a adjacent seat took a immediate liking to my friend’s songs and me. He called my friend ” Junior Mukesh”  and myself as ” Premnath” . ( Based on a popular yesteryear singer and actor of his generation ). I told my father this and he had laughed. I thought Premnath was a villain and if my father liked him , then it was okay 🙂  The pious looking fellow told us to meet him in the city. He was educated and did not look shady. We being curious visited him in the city. He made a following prediction ” He told me am not hard hearted and will fail in the examination that was studying for. I was stunned and was earnestly studying for a public examination. He told my friend that he will have difficulty finishing his ” medical degree”. He told me that me will find my calling in “management”.” I was young and stunned.  He was a astrologer. His prediction came true later. I don’t know ” If it was coincidence or it played on my mind.” It did worry me for many days. I was sensitive and impressionable. I decided not to talk to a astrologer again.

Few years ago , faced with a terrible transition, my kind friend told me to visit a astrologer. My friend took an appointment and asked me to go. My friend is very good to me , kind and protective.So I went to astrologer. He had a busy practice like a surgeon or a lawyer. I was impressed. He made his predictions. He tole me to wear two precious stones.  They were expensive but thought life has never been a straight line. So let’s try this .  But after a new movie came, my sister started laughing and calling me 4th Idiot, Please see this scene from movie 3 Idiots http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=07B2H82KA3A

I realized me had become a coward by wearing stones and my sister and mother started making fun of me, one stone for a new job, one stone for sister’s marriage , like  Sharman Joshi’s character in the movie 🙂 me discarded  precious stones. I asked my friend” what he did with his stones too”. We both discarded it 🙂

My mother still believes more in her astrologer than me, its not bad . These traditional knowledge give a ” map’ to your life. Rich people go to them. Politicians go to them. Movie stars. Everyone really. I think they work like a counsellor . They also border on pop psychology and truisms. Some are well meaning and true to craft.

I will stop reading Zodiac signs. I think its a minor discretion. At least think so. It does” play on mind”. I will try to no more read it daily. I will probably check the weekend predictions to see how the week panned. 🙂

I hoped to be cured of this and become that teetotaler finally 🙂

I think affirmations which serve us are more useful than the astrological predictions. I want to share one below for you from a master.

” First thing in morning imagine yourself tremendously happy. Get out of bed in a very happy mood, radiant,bubbling, expectant as if something perfect of infinite value is going to happen today. Get out of bed in a very positive and hopeful mood with the feeling this day is  not going to be a ordinary day that something exceptional, extraordinary is waiting for you, something is very close by. Try and remember it again and again for the whole day.”

―  Osho

I had written it down in my notebook and think its better than zodiac signs predictions. It puts us in a positive frame of mind. Its a good belief to start day with 🙂

Image

I took this picture today morning. I was fascinated by flowers strewn all over. May happiness be  flowers strewn all your way dear friends!

Have a lovely day dear friends!  Thank you!

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “My last Vice ( Astrology)…”

  1. thakurbhardawaj9 May 7, 2014 at 5:17 pm #

    Even I too have a similar story. You never know whether it’s your mind being played or is it something which was meant to happen,These free advice giving people i.e so called astrologers always play it safe by predicting most common things and then everything starts.

    • sureshvn May 8, 2014 at 6:58 am #

      Thanks for writing in 🙂 That’s true, may be its something mean to happen, guess the best thing is to believe ” Everything is fine and everything will work out pretty well in time ” Take care!

Leave a Reply

