Video

Leonard Cohen : If it be your will

1 Apr

” Prayer is not asking. It is a longing of the soul. It is daily admission of one’s weakness. It is better in prayer to have a heart without words than words without a heart.”

― Mahatma Gandhi

I remember going for a meeting when times were good and we were young. I asked my Englishman host ” How are you” . He said ” Good as gold”. I never had the opportunity to say that and for me it always was a longing. I remember my heroes and masters Gandhi and Cohen today. Prayer is a longing of the soul. As the master in the introduction says ” It was a while ago faced with some obstacle, wrote a song, well it’s more of a prayer…”

If It Be Your Will :

If it be your will
That I speak no more
And my voice be still
As it was before
I will speak no more
I shall abide until
I am spoken for
If it be your will

If it be your will
That a voice be true
From this broken hill
I will sing to you
From this broken hill
All your praises they shall ring
If it be your will
To let me sing
From this broken hill
All your praises they shall ring
If it be your will
To let me sing

If it be your will
If there is a choice
Let the rivers fill
Let the hills rejoice
Let your mercy spill
On all these burning hearts in hell
If it be your will
To make us well

And draw us near
And bind us tight
All your children here
In their rags of light
In our rags of light
All dressed to kill
And end this night
If it be your will

If it be your will.

I have shared this song before, perhaps a different version, this is beautifully rendered by the great man and The Webb sisters.

And And please see this beautiful version by Antony from a Leonard Cohen documentary

So feel only a pure hearted soul can sing like that , only a pure hearted soul can write like that..

So ” If it be your will , That I speak no more, And my voice be still, As it was before
I will speak no more, I shall abide until, I am spoken for, If it be your will ..”

Hope you like this song as much did sharing dear friends. Have a lovely day! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

