Oscars 2014 speeches!

4 Mar

I oscillated fleetingly between two Oscars yesterday, Oscar 2014 and the other defamed Oscar( Pistorius ) trial televised internationally. I concede saw little more of Pistorius trial dumbfounded by arguments. The snippets  of academy awards speeches that saw were a revelation and want to share full transcripts for you dear friends.

Lupita Nyong’o : Best Supporting Actress, “12 Years a Slave”

“Thank you to the Academy for this incredible recognition. It doesn’t escape me for one moment that so much joy in my life is thanks to so much pain in someone else’s. And so I want to salute the spirit of Patsey for her guidance. And for Solomon, thank you for telling her story and your own.

Steve McQueen, you charge everything you fashion with a breath of your own spirit. Thank you so much for putting me in this position, it’s been the joy of my life. [Tears, applause.] I’m certain that the dead are standing about you and watching and they are grateful and so am I.

Chiwetel, thank you for your fearlessness and how deeply you went into Solomon, telling Solomon’s story. Michael Fassbender, thank you so much. You were my rock. Alfre and Sarah, it was a thrill to work with you. Joe Walker, the invisible performer in the editing room, thank you. Sean Bobbitt, Kalaadevi, Adruitha, Patty Norris, thank you, thank you, thank you — I could not be here without your work.

I want to thank my family, for your training [laughs] and the Yale School of Drama as well, for your training. My friends the Wilsons, this one’s for you. My brother Junior sitting by my side, thank you so much, you’re my best friend and then my other best friend, my chosen family.

When I look down at this golden statue, may it remind me and every little child that no matter where you’re from, your dreams are valid. Thank you.”
Source : Please see: http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/style-blog/wp/2014/03/02/transcript-lupita-nyongos-emotional-oscars-acceptance-speech/

Isn’t that brilliant! She says ” It doesn’t escape me for one moment that so much joy in my life is thanks to so much pain in someone else’s.” in reference to her character in the movie. She will  probably end up as a great actor. Also please see ” When I look down at this golden statue, may it remind me and every little child that no matter where you’re from, your dreams are valid.”  She will be alchemist of many dreams. I loved it.

Jared Leto : Best Supporting Actor,”Dallas Buyers Club”

” “Incredible. Ellen, I love you. To my fellow nominees, I’m so proud to share this journey with you. I’m in awe and have so much respect for you all. To the Academy, thank you.

In 1971, in Bossier City Louisiana, there was a teenage girl who was pregnant with her second child. She was a high school dropout and a single mom, but somehow she managed to make a better life for herself and her children. She encouraged here kids to be creative and work hard and do something special. That girl was my mother and she’s here tonight. I just want to say ‘I love you mom, thank you for teaching me to dream.’

To my brother Shannon, the best big brother in the world: Thank you so much for sharing this insane adventure that is 30 Seconds to Mars and for being my best friend.

To all the dreamers out there around the world watching this tonight in places like Ukraine and Venezuela, I want to to say we are here, and as you struggle to make your dreams happen and live the impossible, we are thinking of you tonight.

This is for the 36 million people who have lost the battle to AIDS. And to those of you who have ever felt injustice because of who you are and who you love, I stand here in front of the world with you and for you.

Thank you so much, and good night.”

Source : Please see :http://entertainment.time.com/2014/03/02/oscars-2014-jared-letos-amazing-acceptance-speech-for-supporting-actor/

I thought it was a heartwarming and a great speech. The actor says ” In 1971, in Bossier City Louisiana, there was a teenage girl who was pregnant with her second child. She was a high school dropout and a single mom, but somehow she managed to make a better life for herself and her children. She encouraged here kids to be creative and work hard and do something special. That girl was my mother and she’s here tonight. I just want to say ‘I love you mom, thank you for teaching me to dream.’ Isn’t that wonderful ! We are  living spirit of the hard work of our parents. Its also about a mother making a child dream. I also liked the dedications. I was born in 1971 and am  encouraged my dreams are still valid!

Matthew McConaughey :Best Actor,”Dallas Buyers Club”

“Thank you thank you thank you to the Academy for this. All 6,000 members. Thank you to the other nominees. All of these performances were impeccable in my opinion, I didn’t see a false note anywhere. I want to thank Jean-Marc Vallée, our director. I want to thank Jared Leto, Jennifer Garner, who I worked with daily.
 
There’s a few things, about three things to my count, that I need each day. One of them is something to look up to, another is something to look forward to, and another is someone to chase.
 
Now, first off, I want to thank God, because that’s who I look up to. He’s graced my life with opportunities that I know are not of my hand or any other human hand. He has shown me that it’s a scientific fact that gratitude reciprocates. In the words of the late Charlie Laughton, who said,“When you got God, you got a friend. And that friend is you.”
 
To my family, that’s who and what I look forward to. To my father, I know he’s up there right now with a big pot of gumbo. He’s got a lemon meringue pie over there. He’s probably in his underwear, and he’s got a cold can of Miller Lite and he’s dancing right now. To you dad, you taught me what it means to be a man. To my mother who’s here tonight, who taught me and my two older brothers — demanded that we respect ourselves. And what we in turn learned was then we were better able to respect others. Thank you for that, Mama. To my wife Camila and my kids Levi, Vida, Mr. Stone, the courage and significance you give me every day I go out the door is unparalleled. You are the four people in my life that I want to make the most proud of me. Thank you.
 
And to my hero, that’s who I chase. Now, when I was 15 years old, I had a very important person in my life come to me and say, “Who’s your hero?” And I said, “I don’t know, I’ve got to think about that. Give me a couple of weeks.” I come back two weeks later, this person comes up and says, “Who’s your hero?” I said, “I thought about it. It’s me in 10 years.” So I turned 25. Ten years later, that same person comes to me and says, “So, are you a hero?” And I was like, “Not even close! No, no no!” She said, “Why?” I said, “Because my hero’s me at 35.”So you see every day, every week, every month, and every year of my life, my hero’s always ten years away. I’m never going to be my hero. I’m not going to attain that. I know I’m not. And that’s just fine with me, because that keeps me with somebody to keep on chasing. So, to any of us, whatever those things are, whatever it is we look up to, whatever it is we look forward to, and whoever it is we’re chasing. To that I say: Amen. To that I say, All right, all right, all right. To that I say, just keep living, eh? Thank you.

Source : http://www.vulture.com/2014/03/read-mcconaugheys-very-mcconaughey-oscar-speech.html

I have seen Matthew McConaughey movies and am a fan. The Actor say’s ” There’s a few things, about three things to my count, that I need each day. One of them is something to look up to, another is something to look forward to, and another is someone to chase.” He alludes to God, family and ideals. Isn’t that brilliant! I also liked ” I want to thank God, because that’s who I look up to. He’s graced my life with opportunities that I know are not of my hand or any other human hand. He has shown me that it’s a scientific fact that gratitude reciprocates. In the words of the late Charlie Laughton, who said,“When you got God, you got a friend. And that friend is you.” That’s how your humble self has lived  life.

I loved these three great speeches and am sure Oscar 2014 had more great speeches. The full list of Oscar 2014 winners : http://www.cbsnews.com/news/oscars-2014-list-of-winners/

As for the other Oscar ( Pistorius) hope he is guilty as sin. I really liked the Oscar 2014 sppeches by Lupita Nyong’o, Jared Leto and Matthew McConaughey.  The central message  from all is what the wonderful Lupita Nyong’o says “When I look down at this golden statue,may it remind me and every little child that no matter where you’re from, your dreams are valid.”

I had a learning today ” Differences of opinion are fine and are mostly attachments to our opinions and beliefs. What matters perhaps is not so much the opinion but our intentions and outcomes. If our intentions are honorable and our results are good. That’s what is most important.” 

Hope you have a lovely day and Remember ” All our dreams are valid”. Oscar 2014!!! Thank you!

 

 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

