Leander Paes , me and journey

17 Feb

” I left home when I was 12, I’m 40 now. A career could be eight years, a long career could be 15 years, but a 27 year career is a little insane. I never thought I’d be playing at this age. No chance! “

 ― Leander Paes, 14 – time Grand slam winner and professional tennis player.

Leander Paes is not just a phenomenon but an inspiration. He recently became the oldest man to have won a Grand slam @40 ,US open 2013. I think Martina Navratilova is the oldest Grand slam winner of all times winning @ 49. Age is just a number, Isn’t that brilliant. Martina is a sporting legend. I find Leander Paes inspirational. He has a large heart and is passionate about sport like a child. He was quoted recently saying ” “I never quit… the word means nothing to me!”. I love the little big hearted tennis champion from my country. He is incredible. He gives his best every single time. Never short of effort or passion for the game. In a way he shares the same traits as Spanish greats Rafael Nadal and David Ferrer.  Never Gives Up!

Whatever I do, whatever environment I am in, I try to make myself happy doing it. The journey, for me, is always more important than the destination because the euphoria of reaching the destination doesn’t last long. The euphoria of winning my first Grand Slam lasted for just about 12 hours. There is no comparison between the 12 hours and the 20 years it took me to get there.”  He recently said in a magazine interview.

I love Leander Paes. This post is about the incredible champion as a  contextual inspirational signpost for my dreams and journey.  I will also definitely do a separate post on Leander Paes.

I started wondering about my own journey in life and remembered about this little tour de force and tennis champion from my country. He is my inspiration at this stage of life. Am from the same generation and wonder what have i accomplished so far  and what is it wished to do in my life ? I have been feeling this acutely of late. Perhaps this has been accentuated because of my little indisposition. May be, its this Robert Downey Jr. quote ” People never change because they are under threat or under duress. Never. They change because they see something that makes their life seem valuable enough to start moving toward a life worth living.” I believe this is true. I quit cigarettes because could not reconcile myself talking to a friend who was a childhood ideal and smoking. Inspired by possibility of a pure friendship. I always wanted to be like the way was in school. You can call it my greatest desire. I had no issues. I was quiet, happy and understood pretty much most things in written word .  I spoke unexpectedly and when felt the desire to just like stray dog’s behavior as shared earlier in a post 🙂 My childhood was good and my friend my childhood ideal. So the brilliant actor is right in saying ” People change because they see something that makes their life seem valuable enough to start moving toward a life worth living”. I was happy and hopeful of moving towards a life worth living. Hope my friend is listening or reading this 🙂

I want to be honest.  My challenges started later, poor adolescence choices, my brother’s long illness, my father passing away, my failures at my then ambition and aspiration. Let’s just say even though started early at reclaiming life and childhood. I was pretty aware, determined and serious at 20. Yet failed for next ten years. Lets say struggled absolutely and horribly till near 30. I was appalled at my experiences and outcomes from 20 to 28. Because was earnest, sincere and not at all a lout. I failed in a public exam. I had a aborted entrepreneurial effort. I found destiny’s card in terms of illness in family a herculean challenge. So I focused on family. I think was good and responsible..

I started again at 28 and thought if you work hard, sincerely,with intent and some grey matter. There should be no more hiccups save destiny’s card. I was never prepared for deceit, intellectual dishonesty and supreme arrogance. I never ever failed in my assignments. In fact its pretty good. I wondered if only had worked with right people..

I learnt my lessons that it is of utmost importance to work with good people and right teams. I paid  a great irreparable price. No body is to be blamed. It is just destiny’s card in a different way this time in work space. Just one word about great Indian MBA, supreme commander of all forces IIT, pretty overrated..

Now am at Leander Paes generation and this decade is so crucial for me. My last two were destiny’s cards. I want to make better choices in this decade. I want to experience meritocracy. May be America. My intention is to do good consistent  game changing work for a decade.

I want a family. I love my brother. I love my sister. I love my family.  But I desire to have a family of my own. All my friends have families. My friend once told me ” You’ll build your own family one day, be sure about it. ”  that was the best thing somebody said  to me.I dream of a family.

I want to write. I want to take part in some writing competition.

My goals is  thus three fold for this decade and coming years of life :

  • Work in a meritocracy
  • Family
  • Writing

I have lot of love, learning, courage and a happy spirit….

So would work towards my cherished goals  and to quote great writer, Borris Pasternak  “I don’t like people who have never fallen or stumbled. Their virtue is lifeless and it isn’t of much value. Life hasn’t revealed its beauty to them. ”

I have fallen and stumbled but am happy and hopeful in this journey of life. So like the great Martina Navratilova. Inspirational Leander Paes for me life starts now. I am hopeful again . Earlier felt like ” They sentenced me to twenty years of boredom, For trying to change the system from within,I’m coming now, I’m coming to reward them..” ( Leonard Cohen/ First We Take Manhattan).

Now I feel happy. Hopeful. I am guided. ” I’m guided by a signal in the heavens, I’m guided by this birthmark on my skin..)( Leonard Cohen/ First We Take Manhattan).

Am guided by my childhood ideal. My forsaken dreams. Am guided by Leander Paes 🙂

I shared my dreams. I shared my journey. Shower me angel dust my friends or send my childhood friend 🙂

Have a lovely day!  ” May all your dreams come true. Age is just a number.”  I have learnt its important to be intentional in life. Thank you!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

