Little bit of me and favorites..

5 Feb

” When an archer is shooting for nothing, he has all his skill. If he shoots for a brass buckle, he is already nervous. If he shoots for a prize of gold, he goes blind or see’s two targets –  he is out of his mind. His skill has not changed. But the prize divides him. He cares. He thinks more of winning than shooting. And the need to win drains him of power.”

― Chuang Tzu

This is a favorite quote of mine.  I have tried to inculcate this approach in my humble life. The venerated Hindu philosophical text, Bhagwad Gita also says ” You have the right to work, but never to the fruit of work. You should never engage in action for the sake of reward, nor should you long for inaction. Perform work in this world, Arjuna, as a man established within himself – without selfish attachments, and alike in success and defeat.”.

So always do your best and do not worry about fruit of work, that is the only  thing in our control really..

Another favorite of  mine is from a song ” Anthem” by Leonard Cohen.

“The birds they sang
at the break of day
Start again
I heard them say
Don’t dwell on what
has passed away
or what is yet to be.

Ring the bells that still can ring
Forget your perfect offering
There is a crack in everything
That’s how the light gets in…”

All right more such favorites….

Favorite Food : Mutton Biryani,Shish kebab, Pizza

Favorite drink : Water

Favorite author : Thich Nhat Hanh, Malcolm Gladwell

Favorite musician : Leonard Cohen, Paul Simon, Bruce Springsteen

Favorite sport : Soccer, Tennis, Badminton, Athletics

Favorite past time : Gazing at sky, watching people, walking early morning, going to  temple, gardening, running..

Favorite actor : Robert De Niro, Shashi Kapoor, Farooque Sheikh, Deepti Naval, Susan Sarandon

Favorite entertainer : Michael Jackson

Favorite sports person : Rafael Nadal, Bjorn Borg,Andre Agassi

Most Beautiful person : Princess Diana

Greatest people ever : Gandhi, Lincoln and Mandela.

Most beautiful actress : Audrey Hepburn, Madhubala, Suchitra Sen

Greatest Movie : The Godfather

Best memory : School and school friends.

Favorite company : Google, Amazon..

Favorite person : My late father, my school friend, my sister

Favorite perfume : Azzaro

Favorite holiday destination : Sea

Favorite profession : Journalism, Investment banking

These were some of my favorites , more for later consumption 🙂

This is a picture of me@ my friends cafe on 3/2/2014 ..Image

This was day before yesterday. I was tired and unwell with toothache and fever, but had gone to meet my friend as had not met him for five months… and we ended fighting and of course all is good 🙂

This is my favorite cap, Rafael Nadal Nike cap with Bull logo 🙂 Image

This is me after writing a blog post yesterday, this is  from where write at my modest home 🙂

Image

I am a start up guy and have done my best work alone…and this is my humble corner..

I guess have posted little too much of me, hope its not a overkill 🙂

Have a lovely day dear friends! Much love and Thank you!

Leave a Reply

