Link

Seth Godin blog : Thinking about money

17 Jan

Seth Godin blog : Thinking about money

I had read Seth Godin’s blogpost ” Thinking about money” and wanted to share same for sometime dear friends. Its a illuminating post by the writer( entrepreneur) and sheds light on our conversations with money. For starters am not qualified to comment on money decisively, perhaps that’s the domain of entrepreneurs, venture capitalists or wealthy inheritors. I am at the polar end of the conversation. I am only now getting comfortable having a conversation about money. It’s difficult for me to have a dialogue about money. So that’s an improvement. Seth Godin’s post is dated June 30, 2013 but it seems right for me today. So learning number no.1 :  wealth is a mindset.

I long held a pseudo belief that some people grow materially, some intellectually, some spiritually and some evolve as people. I realized  late that things in life are much more substantial than our views. I realized it through hardships. Its important to think about money. I just started having conversations about money. May be am “lazy lump of corruption” as a friend used to call me lovingly. May be am naive. So I want to repeat my learning that “wealth is a mindset”.

I  wonder whether people who create wealth think different from rest of us ? my simple understanding is ” they make better choices or decisions.” So it is ” thinking and behavior” which is the basis for everything including wealth.

At a personal level,always admired people who invest in one discipline or career and become something at the end of it. A good journalist. A Banker. A Executive. A Teacher.I recollect a statistic that an average time an American spends in a company is 13 years. Its good thing and am sure they will grow as people or become something at the end of it.  Money like everything else follows a mindset.

I also learnt  “creating value is money”. This is your own unique contribution to a activity , task or transaction. The value is also ” perceived value” , just read about Google buying Nest Labs, Inc. for $3.2 billion in cash. ( http://investor.google.com/releases/2014/0113.html)  Surely that’s perceived value 🙂

Seth Godin says ” If money is an emotional issue for you, you’ve just put your finger on a big part of the problem. No one who is good at building houses has an emotional problem with hammers. Place your emotional problems where they belong, and focus on seeing money as a tool.” And perhaps most important ” Don’t get caught confusing money with security. There are lots of ways to build a life that’s more secure, starting with the stories you tell yourself, the people you surround yourself with and the cost of living you embrace. Money is one way to feel more secure, but money alone won’t deliver this.”

The Beatles sang ” I’ll buy you a diamond ring my friend, If it makes you feel all right .I’ll get you anything my friend ,If it makes you feel all right .Cause I don’t care too much for money ,For money can’t buy me love”…

It’s true, money can’t buy love or happiness, those are internal feelings, but it can provide for family, children, travel, education, dignity..

So money is important. I need to get this equation right. Hope you a lovely day ! May you always stay blessed materially and spiritually. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

