Twelve O’ Clock Chant : Leonard Cohen

13 Oct

I want to share a poem from the early works of a young Leonard Cohen. I came across this poem in a 1965 National Film Board of Canada (NFB) documentary about the poet and writer.

Twelve O’ Clock Chant :

Hold me hard light, soft light hold me,
Moonlight in your mountains fold me,
Sunlight in your tall waves scold me,
Ironlight in your wires shield me,
Deathlight in your darkness wield me.

In burlap bags the bankers sew me,
In countries far the merchants sell me,
In icy caves the princes throw me,
In golden rooms the doctors geld me,
In battlefields the hunters rule me.

I will starve till prophets find me,
I will bleed til angels bind me,
Still I sing till churches blind me,
Still I love till cog-wheels wind me.

Hold me hard light, soft light hold me,
Moonlight in your mountains fold me,
Sunlight in your tall waves scald me,
Ironlight in your wires shield me,
Deathlight in your darkness wield me.

Source :http://1heckofaguy.com/2011/06/22/leonard-cohen-writes-performs-first-song/

The site is also a good ready reference of Cohen’s work. Hope you like this poem. Good night friends , beautiful tiring day for me and hope you have a nice Sunday! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

