Video

Malala Yousafzai talks to Jon Stewart

12 Oct

“I have the right of education. I have the right to play. I have the right to sing. I have the right to talk. I have the right to go to market. I have the right to speak up.”

-Malala Yousafzai, 2011

Malala winning Nobel might be little premature but she remains the youngest Nobel peace prize nominee and one of the bravest and most recognized children in the world. This is the first time seeing her talk and she is extremely passionate of her cause and articulate. I also love the-way she catches Jon Stewart’s wit in this interview. She is not only brave but smart. Please see this wonderful interview.

The images of a little girl shot and recuperating in a Birmingham hospital are the first images of Malala that come to mind. Then she going to school walking on the pavement with her father post her rehabilitation. The pictures stuck me poignant and also innocent. Which religion teaches to attack a little girl ? Its a mad world.

I do wish that Malala stays in west and promotes her cause. You cannot trust rabid people. This is my feeling. Its so heartwarming to see a child taking steps into adolescence now speaking her mind with so much passion , commitment and clarity. In response to a Jon Stewart Question on when did she come to know she was on the list of Taliban, she says in 2012 but did not believe it initially but later says “I started thinking about that, and I used to think that the Talib would come, and he would just kill me. But then I said, ‘If he comes, what would you do Malala?’ then I would reply to myself, ‘Malala, just take a shoe and hit him.’ But then I said, ‘If you hit a Talib with your shoe, then there would be no difference between you and the Talib. You must not treat others with cruelty and that much harshly, you must fight others but through peace and through dialogue and through education.’ Then I said I will tell him how important education is and that ‘I even want education for your children as well.’ And I will tell him, ‘That’s what I want to tell you, now do what you want.”

This left Jon Stewart speechless. This should leave anyone speechless. Imagine this from a 16 year old who has been shot…

Malala Yousafzai is a remarkable child, hope she succeeds in her mission and stays safe. All I want to say is from a Cat stevens song ( Wild World):

” Oh, baby, baby, it’s a wild world
It’s hard to get by just upon a smile
Oh, baby, baby, it’s a wild world
I’ll always remember you like a child, girl”

Hope you like this nice interview. Cheers to Malala. Have a nice weekend friends! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

