Video

Joss Stone : Big Ole Game

21 Sep

Many years ago on work, ten years perhaps, my new found friend Shaun told he liked female artists who had a different voice and me agreed. I had gone shopping with him to look for Miss sixty jeans for his fifteen year old daughter. As  post this video of Joss Stone. I remembered this conversation and am sure my friend would have loved Joss Stone. I love Joss Stone. May be she is the most talented young artist around with Adele. Jon Stewart in a Kennedy center honors tribute for Bruce Springsteen said ” I believe that Bob Dylan and James Brown had a baby. And they abandoned this child on the side of the road, between the exit interchanges of 8A and 9 on the New Jersey Turnpike. That child is Bruce Springsteen.” 🙂 Joss Stone then is a combination of Aretha Franklin’s soul , Janis Joplin’s spirit and Claudia Schiffer looks may be, love that bare footed performances..

Big Ol’ Game :

Summer child
And Wendy, I ain’t seen for a while
Since she’s been working,
Trying to catch her old style
With that I got her back, *
My kettle’s always boiling,
Snow is falling
And it’s truly freezing
Danny ain’t been calling,
He’s got a family
But outside my door still says
“Welcome on the floor”

Life is just a big old game to me
I’d like to be number one on your team,
Call me baby (Baby!
Make me your baby girl (Baby!
One day someone will snatch me for their lady, yeah
I could never be you number two,
Cause when you’re not there,
I’m sure someone is loving you,
And I can’t have it;
I won’t have it.
One day someone will snatch me for their lady.

The buds in their blooms now
But no letters come from Lucy
* She’s deep in her book,
Trying to bring down the words *
But she’s on my mind profusely, my sister Lucy…

The birds and the bees
They do their thing in trees
While we’re hustling, Rosalind’s playing the game of life
Looking in the dark light
For the answers to the questions, like

Life is just a big old game to me,
I’d like to be number one on your team,
Call me baby (Baby!
Make me your baby girl (Baby!
One day someone will snatch me for their lady, (watch me)
I could never be you number two,
Cause when you’re not there,
I’m sure someone is loving you,
And I can’t have it;
I won’t have it.
One day someone will snatch me for their lady.

You know, sometimes,
See, I find myself confused
It’s always “why this” and “why that”
See, have you ever heard the saying “it’s just a game”?
Well, then one more why,
Why can’t I start playing?

Life is just a big old game to me,
I’d like to be number one on your team,
Call me baby
(Baby!
(Baby!
I could never be you number two,
Cause when i’m not there,
I’m sure someone is loving you,
And I can’t have it;
I won’t have it.

I could never be your…
Your number two…
Cause someone else will come and start loving you.
And I can’t have it.
I told I won’t have it, no.
Oh, life is just a big old game to me.

I love this song. Hope you like it too. In the spirit of song sometimes feel “life is just a big old game to me ,Why can’t I start playing?.” I always always like Joss Stone performances.

Have a nice day friends. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

