Video

MIKHAIL BARYSHNIKOV

28 Aug

“Perfection is a theory. You cannot be a perfect human being, perfect artist. You cannot be a perfect husband, you cannot be a perfect father probably and probably I am not. But go through your daily routine with hope you will be a little better in all respects, and do something meaningful”

― Mikhail Baryshnikov

In my growing up years,books and magazines were only window to the world. My country in the early years was little more inclined to soviet union and though it believed in Non alignment. Henry Kissinger had pretty interesting things to say about us in those times. I remember going to attend exhibitions of Russian books and sometimes films as a young student. The books were inexpensive and very colorful about Olympic athletes, ballet dancers. I discovered great Ballet dancer Mikhail Baryshnikov . I read about him in newspapers and magazines. I was fascinated about his defection,his interests in ballet,contemporary dance,acting. Great man.

In this clip the great man says ” My mother was a art lover,opera,drama,music ,theater and Ballet. One day in evening the curtain goes up,there were people dancing,beautiful lights,lovely music. I was hooked.I didn’t question my impulses.I really wanted to do it. I knew from very beginning,i can do it. Every thing else,you want to be good,you have to work day and night. I learnt that from my tender age.”

Here is recent report on Mikhail Baryshnikov acting on stage with Willem Dafoe

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-23143063

I also wanted to share a Broadway clip of Mikhail Baryshnikov dancing with the great Liza Minnelli

Hope you liked the great artistes in tandem and Mikhail Baryshnikov is such a great dancer. My humble tribute to great man.

Hope you enjoy as much as did sharing 🙂 have a nice day dear friends. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

