Video

Beautiful Interview – Leonard Cohen ( NRK – Part 3)

30 Apr

This is the final interview in this wonderful series . Leonard graciously talks about being defrauded by his manager and says something wonderfully instructive , says his relationships deepened, friendships deepened and his whole affective personal world deepened. This is very true about misfortune , some of our truer relationships get deepened and we cannot say where we get our education from..

Leonard’s observation on politics find a mention here , most notably his song ” The Future” and particularly love his verse on America..

Oh one more thing
You aren’t going to like
What comes after America..

I think its true , myself dread a world full of Chinese noodles , much like spieldberg’s movie ” Gremlins” which my school had shown in an auditorium , where a very disagreeable organism keeps multiplying on contact with water 🙂

There is a mention of cohen’s lines for spetember 11…

Some people say
It’s what we deserve
For sins against god
For crimes in the world
I wouldn’t know
I’m just holding the fort

Since that day
They wounded New York

Some people say
They hate us of old
Our women unveiled
Our slaves and our gold
I wouldn’t know
I’m just holding the fort

But answer me this
I won’t take you to court
Did you go crazy
Or did you report
On that day
On that day
They wounded New York…

There are few lines from the poem A street…

It’s going to be September now
For many years to come
Every heart adjusting
To that strict September drum

I see the Ghost of Culture
With numbers on his wrist
Salute some new conclusion
Which all of us have missed

So let’s drink to when it’s over
And let’s drink to when we meet
I’ll be standing on this corner
Where there used to be a street..

Hope you loved this little triology , one of my bosses used to say business is better than sex , disagree , listening to cohen is better 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

