Video

Beautiful Interview – Leonard Cohen ( NRK – Part 2)

30 Apr

This is the second interview in series and Leonard talks about a sense of invigorating purpose from Zen and his teacher ( this is from Part 1) and about how privileged he has been to meet some nice people and says it has something to got to do with Love. People who habitually forgive you and don’t operate from the mechanism of blame , shame , guilt and repentance. This must be a true facet of love , we all have one or two true friends who habitually forgive us 🙂 I love Cohen because he is honest about struggles of existence and peels of a perspective or an insight.

The video also has extracts of his signature song – Hallelujah , with lot of versions from nice artists. I had liked Jeff Buckley and Rufus Wainwright version earlier , but all are nice. The lovely interviewer Helle Vaagland wonders if the song is a prayer , he quotes the last verse…

I did my best, it wasn’t much
I couldn’t feel, so I tried to touch
I’ve told the truth, I didn’t come to fool you
And even though
It all went wrong
I’ll stand before the Lord of Song
With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah..

and says its kind of deep acceptance and Dylan singing it was a wonderful affirmation for him…

It also has some lines from one of my favorite leonard’s songs – The Guest. Hope you like it..:)

Leave a Reply

